IPL Orange Cap Holders: List of Highest Scoring Batsmen From 2008-18 of Each Season in the Indian Premier League T20 Tournament
Orange Cap holders over the years (Photo Credits: IANS, IPL, BCCI)

The Indian Premier League is known for its tall sixes and fours especially in the format like T20. The fans enjoy big scores on the scoreboard and relish the towering maximums and mammoth totals on the board. The Indian Premier League awards the highest scorers with an Orange Cap. The holders of the Orange honour keeps changing throughout the tournament. Over the years, we have had many hitters and over the years we have had many holders of the Orange Cap. IPL 2019 Schedule in PDF for All Matches: Download VIVO Indian Premier League 12 Full Timetable With Fixtures, Dates, Team and Venue Details.

In the first year i.e. 2008 we had Shaun Marsh as the Orange Cap holder. The Australian played for 11 innings and had hit five half-centuries and one hundred. He went on to score 616 runs in 2008. Last year, we had Kane Williamson from Sunrisers Hyderabad who played 17 innings for the team and went on to score 735 runs in 2018. His highest score was 84 runs and had a strike rate if 52.5 hitting eight half-centuries and no hundreds. Now, let’s have a look at the Orange Cap holders we’ve had over the years. IPL Purple Cap Holders: List of Highest Wicket Taker Bowlers From 2008-18 of Each Season in the Indian Premier League.

Orange Cap Holders from 2008-2018

Year Players Team Innings Runs Highest Score
2008 Shaun Marsh KXIP 11 616 115
2009 Matthew Hayden CSK 12 572 89
2010 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 15 618 89
2011 Chris Gayle RCB 12 608 107
2012 Chris Gayle RCB 14 733 128
2013 Michael Hussey CSK 17 733 95
2014 Robin Uthappa KKR 16 660 83
2015 David Warner SRH 14 562 91
2016 Virat Kohli RCB 16 973 113
2017 David Warner SRH 14 641 126
2018 Kane Williamson SRH 17 735 84


The Indian Premier League will begin from March 23, 2019. The opening match will be held between Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings in Chennai. It would be interesting to see who will bag the Orange honour in IPL 12.