Sourav Ganguly Becomes 39th BCCI President; Here’s List of All Heads of Board of Control for Cricket in India So Far
Sourav Ganguly, Shashank Manohar and Anurag Thakur (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Sourav Ganguly took over the post of new BCCI President on Wednesday. The former Indian cricketer was appointed as the new leader of Indian cricket board two weeks ago. During BCCI’s AGM meeting on October 23, Wednesday, he took over the post of the new head of BCCI chief. Ganguly became the only second Indian skipper to take over BCCI’s head post. Earlier, Maharajkumar of Vizianagram aka Vizzy had donned both the roles. Sunil Gavaskar is another former Indian skipper who was made the BCCI chief but he held the post as interim chief for a short period. As former Indian Skipper Ganguly becomes new BCCI president, below is the list of all the BCCI presidents so far. Sourav Ganguly Officially Takes Over the Reins of BCCI; Dada Given a Warm Welcome (See Pics). 

During BCCI’s AGM meet on Wednesday, Union Home Minister Amit Shah's son Jay Shah was made the BCCI secretary. Former BCCI’s chief Anurag Thakur's younger brother Arun Dhumal became the treasurer. Jayesh George took over as the new joint secretary. Mahim Verma of Uttarakhand became the new vice-president. Talking about BCCI presidents so far, the boasts of some prominent names like Anurag Thakur, Shashank Manohar, Sharad Pawar and others. Let’s have a look at all the BCCI presidents in India so far.


List of BCCI Presidents

Sr. No Name Term
1 R E Grant Govan 1928-1933
2 Sir Sikandar Hayat Khan 1933-1935
3 Nawab Hamidullah Khan 1935-1937
4 Maharaja K S Digvijaysinhji 1937-1938
5 P Subbarayan 1938-1946
6 Anthony S D'Mello 1946-1951
7 J C Mukherji 1951-1954
8 Maharajkumar of Vizianagram 1954-1956
9 Sardar SS Majithia 1956-1958
10 R K Patel 1958-1960
11 M A Chidambaram 1960-1963
12 Maharaja F Gaekwad 1963-1966
13 Z R Irani 1966-1969
14 A N Ghose 1969-1972
15 P M Rungta 1972-1975
16 Ramprakash Mehra 1975-1977
17 M Chinnaswamy 1977-1980
18 S K Wankhede 1980-1982
19 NKP Salve 1982-1985
20 S Sriraman 1985-1988
21 B N Dutt 1988-1990
22 Madhavrao Scindia 1990-1993
23 I S Bindra 1993-1996
24 Raj Singh Dungarpur 1996-1999
25 A C Muthiah 1999-2001
26 Jagmohan Dalmiya 2001-2004
27 Ranbir Singh Mahendra 2004-2005
28 Sharad Pawar 2005-2008
29 Shashank Manohar 2008-2011
30 N Srinivasan 2011-2013
31 Jagmohan Dalmiya (Interim) 2013-2013
32 N Srinivasan 2013-2014
33 Shivlal Yadav (Interim) 2014-2014
34 Sunil Gavaskar (Interim) 2014-2014
35 Jagmohan Dalmiya (Died in office) 2015-2015


36 Shashank Manohar


37 Anurag Thakur


38 C K Khanna (Interim) 2017-2019
39 Sourav Ganguly 2019-Present


Ganguly was unanimously appointed as the BCCI chief. The former Indian skipper is also President of the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) and will continue with the position till September 2020. He was appointed as CAB head last month. Earlier, Ganguly had told media that his priority will be to look after first-class cricketers.