In the battle for 97 parliamentary seats on April 11, there are six candidates whose electoral battles are being keenly observed. They include: Farooq Abdullah, ex-J&K CM, contesting from Srinagar; actor-politician Hema Malini from Mathura; AIADMK legislature party leader Thambidurai from Karur; Union Minister DS Sadananda Gowda from Bangalore North; Maharashtra Congress chief Ashok Chavan from Nanded and CPM veteran Mohammed Salim from Raiganj.