Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) on Monday announced their T20I squad for their upcoming 20-over series against Sri Lanka. The right-handed batter Ibrahim Zadran to lead the Afghan squad in their upcoming series as Rashid Khan still recovering from the back surgery he underwent last year. Apart from Rashid, Mujeeb ur Rahman will also miss the upcoming T20 series after he sustained a sprain in his right hand before the ODI series. Meanwhile, medium pacer Wafadar Momand has been included in the squad. While announcing the squad, the CEO of ACB Naseeb Khan said that they are focusing on giving more exposure to the young players. Najmul Hossain Shanto Appointed Bangladesh Captain in All Three Formats For One Year.

"We have consistently aimed to provide our young players with the exposure they deserve, a commitment we have maintained successfully so far. Building a strong bench strength is a priority for us, as we want to ensure we have good backups for our key players when needed, the role Qais Ahmad is currently playing for Rashid Khan," Khan said as quoted by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Afghanistan T20I Squad Announcement

The three-match T20I series between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka will kick off on on February 17 in Dambulla. The second and third matches of the series will take place on February 19 and 21 at the same venue. AFG vs SL T20I Series 2024: Binura Fernando Replaces Injured Dushmantha Chameera in Sri Lanka's Squad for Afghanistan.

Afghanistan T20I squad: Ibrahim Zadran (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Mohammad Ishaq Rahimi (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Wafadar Momand and Qais Ahmad.

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the content body)