Pakistan Bans Indian Advertisements, Launches Crackdown on Sale of CDs of Indian Movies in Retaliation to India's Move to Abrogate Article 370
Pakistan National Flag (Photo Credits: Pixabay)

Islamabad, August 16: The Pakistan government banned Indian advertisements and launched a crackdown on CD shops to confiscate Indian movies. The decision was taken in the wake of rising tensions with New Delhi after the Narendra Modi scrapped special status of Jammu and Kashmir by diluting Article 370. "We have banned Indian advertisements and launched a crackdown on CD shops to confiscate Indian movies," Firdous Ashiq Awan, the Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Information, told Dawn news on Thursday.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) has prohibited airing of advertisements for India-made products on television and radio networks. In a letter circulated to all its television and radio licencees on Wednesday, the authority recalled that it had withdrawn permission for airing Indian channels and content on the Supreme Court's directive in October 2018. 'Kashmir Valley Restrictions to be Removed Over Next Few Days,' Centre Tells Supreme Court; Schools, Colleges to Re-open on Monday.

The letter posted on Pemra's Twitter account said, “However, it has been observed that advertisements of various products of multi-nationals, which are either produced in India or carry Indian characters, are being aired on electronic media.” The Pemra further added that the airing of advertisements, produced in India, and carrying Indian celebrities, on Pakistani media was tantamount to "negating the state policy.

Pakistan also downgraded bilateral relations with India after New Delhi’s decision to Abrogate Article 370. Islamabad suspended Samjhauta Express and bus service between both the nations. Iltija Javed, Mehbooba Mufti's Daughter, Writes to Amit Shah Over Abrogation of Article 370, Says 'Kashmiris Have Been Caged Like Animals'.

Apart from scrapping the special status of Jammu and Kashmir, the Modi government also bifurcated the state into two union territories – Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. Jammu and Kashmir will have its own legislative assembly, while there will be no legislature in Ladakh.

(With inputs from IANS)