Patna, November 10: Mishri Lal Yadav, Vikassheel Insaan Party candidate has won from the Alinagar Vidhan Sabha seat in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Yadav defeated Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Binod Mishra from the Alinagar Vidhan Sabha seat, which is situated in the Darbhanga district of Bihar. The previous MLA of the Alinagar constituency was Abdul Bari Siddiqui, of the RJD. The voting in the Alinagar constituency was held in the second phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 on November 3 while the counting of votes and results were declared today. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results on November 10.

The Bihar assembly elections were held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7, followed by counting of votes on November 10. The Bihar election is one of the biggest elections globally during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Second Phase Complete Schedule

Last Date For Filing Nomination October 16
Scrutiny of Nominations October 17
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal October 19
Voting Date November 3
Result Date November 10

The main candidates for the Alinagar Assembly Election 2020 included Binod Mishra of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Raj Kumar Jha Lok  of Jan Shakti Party among other candidates. In the last elections in Bihar held in 2015, Abdul Bari Siddiqui of the RJD had won from the Alinagar seat by defeating BJP candidate Mishri Lal Yadav.

The voting for the first phase was held on October 28 covering 71 assembly constituencies, the second-phase voting on November 3 covered 94 seats. The third phase of voting on November 7 covered a total of 78 assembly seats. In Bihar, the ruling NDA will face a challenge from the RJD-Congress alliance (JDU+BJP) and the Mahagathbandhan (RJD+Congress+Left).

The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) has said it would contest alone this time. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 are the first major polls amid COVID-19 pandemic. While most are looking at it as a two-way fight between the NDA (JDU+BJP) and Mahagathbandhan (RJD+Congress+Left), the LJP this time has decided to go alone with party President Chirag Paswan taking charge of the all the affairs in the party.

In the outgoing assembly, the RJD has 80 members while the JD (U) has 69. The BJP has 54 seats, Congress has 25, while the remaining seats in the 243-member assembly are held by other parties.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Vinod YadavRashtravadi Janata Party928
Mishri Lal Yadav (Current MLA)Vikassheel Insaan Party61082
Binod MishraRJD57981
Sanjay Kumar SinghJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)515
Fakira PaswanIND4468
Md Naseem Azam SiddiquiIND2413
Shambhu MishraIND2178
Sulekha DeviIND1938
Mohammad JamirWazib Adhikar Party1705
Md Nasar NababSamajwadi Janata Dal Democratic1576
Farhan AlamLoktantrik Janshakti Party1275
Rajipal JhaIND1087
Raj Kumar JhaLJPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 10, 2020 08:11 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website