Amethi Lok Sabha Constituency Election Results 2019 in Uttar Pradesh: Smriti Irani Defeats Rahul Gandhi From This Seat
Amethi Constituency | Representative Image | (Photo Credits: File Image)

Lucknow, May 23: The results of the Amethi Lok Sabha Constituency has been declared. The outcome has sent jolts across the political circles as BJP candidate and Union Minister Smriti Irani has pulled off an unprecedented victory against Congress president Rahul Gandhi. This marks the first-defeat of the Congress from the Gandhi-family bastion in last 39 years. Rahul Gandhi Concedes Defeat in Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Congratulates PM Modi on Landslide Win

Voting took place for the Amethi seat in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections on May 6. A total voter turnout of 57. 07 per cent was recorded in this phase of polling in UP, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Amethi Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh.

Amethi constituency is one of the eighty Lok Sabha constituencies in the state of Uttar Pradesh. Amethi is a town in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It is a major town of the Amethi district, in the Faizabad division. It has been the constituency of the Nehru-Gandhi family since 1980. Amethi has been a Congress stronghold since its formation in 1966. Amethi is also famous for the temple called Hanumangarhi. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Rahul Gandhi of the Indian National Congress (INC) won this seat. Smriti Irani of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was at second place and Dharmendra Pratap Singh of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ended up at the third place from this Lok Sabha constituency.  Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency Wise Dates Of Voting And Results For UP General Elections.

The candidates who are contesting from Amethi Lok Sabha constituency which will go to polls on Monday, May 6 are: Rahul Gandhi of the Congress party, Smriti Irani of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Samajwadi Party(SP)-Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) alliance did not name a candidate from the seat.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule for Amethi Constituency:

Issue of Notification April 10
Last date for filing nomination April 18
Scrutiny of nomination April 20
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 22
Date Of Poll May 6
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase V

List of States And Constituencies That Will Vote On May 6 In Phase V

State (No. of seats voting in this phase) Constituencies
Bihar (5) Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Hajipur
Jammu and Kashmir (2) Anantnag, Ladakh
Jharkhand (4) Kodarma, Ranchi, Khunti, Hazaribagh
Madhya Pradesh (7) Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad, Betul
Rajasthan (12) Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa, Nagaur
Uttar Pradesh (14) Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich, Kaiserganj, Gonda
West Bengal (7) Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambag

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will take place across the country between April 11 and May 23. While voting will take place in seven phases between April 11 and May 19, the General Election results will be announced on May 23.