For complete schedule of assembly election in five states -Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram  read here

In the first Phase of Assembly Elections, polls will be conducted on only 18 constituencies in Chhattisgarh to avoid any unfortunate incident as huge deployment of force is required in these constituencies, says OP Rawat

Counting of votes will take place on December 11.

Assembly Polls will be conducted in Rajasthan and Telangana on December 7

Polls will be conducted in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram on all constituencies on November 28.

Phase 2- polls will be conducted on remaining 72 constituencies on November 20

Phase - 1 -  Polls will be conducted on 18 constituencies in Southern  Chhattisgarh on November 12

The commission is committed to conducting free and fair elections, says OP rawat

The election expenditure for all constituencies will be Rs 28 Lakh, whereas in Mizoram it is rs 20 Lakh.

All Assembly Elections will be conducted before January 15 and Model Code of Conduct will be applied immediately after the announcement, says CEC, OP Rawat

Load More

New Delhi, October 6: The Election Commission of India (ECI) will announce the dates of Assembly elections in four states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram today. The schedule will be announced for the state polls in a press conference at 3 pm on Saturday. However, there is no clarity on whether dates for the Telangana Assembly Elections 2018 will be announced today or not.

The elections in these four states are likely to be held in November-December 2018. The Model Code of Conduct will come into place in the states as soon as the dates are announced. These elections will set the pace for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections of 2019.

Meanwhile, The Congress has raised questions on the independence of the ECI. The opposition party claimed that the timing of Assembly Elections 2018 Dates announcement was changed by the poll body to accommodate Prime Minister Narendra Modi's election rally in Rajasthan. The Congress spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala tweeted on Saturday shortly after the EC announced a press conference at 3 pm today to announce poll dates for the four states.

He tweeted, “3 Facts- Draw your own conclusions. ECI announces a PC at 12.30 today to announce election dates to the 5 states. PM Modi is addressing a rally in Ajmer, Rajasthan at 1 PM today. ECI suddenly changes the time of announcement and PC to 3 PM. Independence of ECI?” Earlier alsi, the opposition party had posed questions over the independence of the ECI.