The top metro cities of Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai would be voting on May 12, April 29, May 19 and April 18, respectively. Hyderabad would be going to polls in the first phase, on April 11, whereas, Bengaluru would be contested in the second phase, on April 18.Among other major state capitals, Patna (Patna Sahib) would be contested in the last phase, on May 19. Bhopal would go to polls in the 6th phase, on may 12. Raipur would be voting on April 23, Jaipur on May 6, Chandigarh on May 19, Lucknow on May 6, Srinagar on April 23, Ranchi on May 6 and Ahmedabad on April 23. For the dates of all 543 seats, download the ECI statement here via

In the press conference addressed by the Election Commission, the state-wise polling dates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections were announced. The constituency-wise dates are expected to be released shortly. In the update below, the polling dates of top metro cities were shared citing reports.

Dates of voting in the top cities of Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad and Bengaluru has been revealed.

Voting for seven Lok Sabha seats across Delhi will be held on May 12. The results will be declared on May 23. Read full story here.

Polling in Odisha for Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be held on April 11, 18, 23 and 29, the counting of votes will take place on May 23. Read full story here.

Polling for the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies across Karnataka will in two phases on April 18 and April 23. Complete schedule here.

The Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan will be held in two phases. The first phase will be held on April 29 and second on May 6. Read full story here.

Bihar will see staggered Lok Sabha elections spread over all seven phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Read full story here.

Voting for four Lok Sabha seats in Himachal Pradesh will be held on May 19. Check full schedule here.

Voting for 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana will be held on May 12. Check complete schedule here.

Load More

New Delhi, March 10: The Election Commission of India (ECI) will address a press conference on Sunday to announce election dates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. The ECI will hold a press conference at 5 pm today. The ECI on Saturday conducted a review meeting in New Delhi as part of preparations for the multi-phased Lok Sabha polls.

Chief Election Commission Sushil Chandra will announce the dates at Vigyan Bhavan in Delhi. The ECI will also announce the dates for the assembly elections in the states of Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, and Odisha. The polls are likely to begin by end of March. The Term of 16th Lok Sabha will end on June 3, while for Arunachal Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh assemblies will end on June 18.

The multi-phased polls are likely to be spread over the next two months. As soon as the Election Commission announces the dates, the Model Code of Conduct comes into effect. After this, political parties are forbidden from making any announcements that can impact the election outcome.

As per the new rules introduced by EC, candidates have to give details of their properties abroad. "The I-T department will look into it and, if any, discrepancies are found then it will be uploaded on the Election Commission (EC) website and strict action will be initiated," CEC Sunil Arora said.

This time, the election dates were announced slightly late as the last three general elections dates were announced in the first week of March. In the high-stake elections, Opposition has banded together in a hope to wrest power from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which recorded a triumph in the 2014 general elections.

Catch all the latest updates on the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on live blog.