DUSU Elections 2019: Voting For Delhi University Student Union Polls Today, Know Key Candidates, Result Date and More
DUSU Elections Representational Image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, September 12: The voting for Delhi University Students’ Union Election 2019 will be held today i.e. September 12, 2019. The counting of votes for the DUSU polls will be held the next day i.e. on September 13. According to details by the University, a total of 16 candidates are in the fray for posts of president, vice president, general secretary and joint secretary in the students' union. DUSU Elections Results 2018: ABVP's Ankiv Basoya Wins President Post, Shakti Singh and Jyoti Choudhary Elected as VP & Joint Secretary.

Security has been heightened at all polling stations as there has been a fierce campaign in both the campuses. EVMs were received at various polling stations amid high security arrangements. According to reports, as many as 52 polling stations have been set up across the campus.

The main candidates in fray include Akshit Dahiya, belonging to the RSS-affiliated ABVP. While Dahiya has been fielded for the post of DUSU president, Pradeep Tanwar has been running for the vice president post, Yogit Rathee for the general secretary post and Shivangi Kherwal for joint’s post.

The Congress-backed NSUI has pitted Chetna Tyagi against Dahiya and Left-backed AISA's Damini Kain for the post of president. Meanwhile, Ankit Bharti has been fielded by the NSUI for the vice president post, Ashish Lamba for the secretary post and Abhishek Chaprana for the post of joint secretary.

During the polling, assistant commissioners of police and station house officers of the northwest district will supervise arrangements at the counting centre. On Thursday, students from both North Campus and South Campus colleges of Delhi University will cast their vote. According to reports, around 1.3 lakh students are expected to vote during the DUSU Election 2019 today.

In 2018, the RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad had won on three posts, while the Congress-affiliated National Students' Union of India had won on one post in the last year polls, which recorded a 44.46 percent voter turnout. Last year, the counting of votes was suspended over allegations of faulty electronic voting machines, which was later resumed.