The BJP has been declared winner in 12 out of 15 seats contested in the by-elections held on December 5. With this victory, the stability of BS Yediyurappa-led government remains intact. Siddaramaiah, the Congress Legislative Party leader, resigned from his post after the results were out as the party could win only 2 vidhan sabha segments.

In JD(S) stronghold Krishnarajpet, also referred to as KR Pete, the BJP has flagged its first-ever win. The constituency has been wrested by the party candidate Narayana Gowda.

The final result of Yellapur constituency has been declared by the Election Commission. After the end of counting of votes, BJP candidate Arabail Hebbar Shivaram ended up defeating his nearest rival Bhimanna Naik of the Congress by a total of 31,408 votes.

The BJP is headed towards a victory in 12 out of the 15 seats being contested in the Karnataka bypolls 2019. While the final results are awaited, trends so far indicate a decisive win for the BJP in the 12 constituencies. The Congress is ahead in 2, whereas, an independent candidate is leading in one of the seats. The JD(S) is trailing in all the constituencies.

Senior Congress leader DK Shivakumar has accepted the defeat of Opposition camp as the BJP has taken its lead to 11 constituencies. "People have accepted the defected. We have accepted our defeat," he said.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is heading for a clean sweep, with leads in 12 out of the 15 constituencies in fray in Karnataka bypolls 2019. The Congress is ahead in 2 seats, one independent is leading, whereas, all JD(S) candidates are trailing.

From the Athani constituency in Karnataka, Mahesh Iranagoud Kumatallu of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading by over 6,000 votes.

Janata Dal (Secular) leader TN Javariya has taken a lead in Yeshvanthapura constituency of Karnataka. He is leading against his nearest BJP rival ST Somashekar by over 3,500 votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has consolidated its lead in 10 of the 15 seats which went to bypolls. The Congress and JD(S) are trailing, with their candidates being ahead in only 2 seats each. One independent candidate is also leading.

The BJP is currently trailing in Hunsur and Shivajinagar seats, where the Congress candidates have maintained a lead. The JD(S) is ahead in 

Load More

Bengaluru, December 9: Results of the high-stake Karnataka by-elections 2019 is set to be declared by the Election Commission today. Counting of votes will begin at 8 am and the first trends are likely to emerge within 30 minutes. The numbers will continue to emerge till evening, when the final results are expected to be announced. Stay tuned here for the live news, trends, updates and results of Karnataka by-elections 2019.

Unlike the odd-seat bypolls held amid the terms of a legislative assembly, the by-elections held in Karnataka on December 5 - in a total of 15 vidhan sabha segments - will decide the fate of five-month-old BS Yediyurappa-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in the state.

To maintain its majority status in the assembly, the saffron party needs to win at least 7 out of the 15 constituencies in fray. The government may still remain stable if it wins 5 seats, as two independent lawmakers are backing the Yediyurappa regime.

A victory for BJP in less than 5 constituencies may, however,  set the alarm bell ringing in Karnataka politics, and the erstwhile allies - the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) may end up once again joining hands.

Before the bypolls, the assembly strength was 208, with the BJP holding the majority-mark of 105 seats. The party is backed by two independents, taking the government's total strength to 107. After the by-elections, the assembly's strength will jump to 223, making 112 the new magic figure.

The bypolls in 15 constituencies were necessitated due to the disqualification of 12 Congress and 3 JD(S) legislators in July this year under the anti-defection law. 13 among them have been fielded from their respective constituencies on the BJP ticket, whereas, two others are contesting as independents. The Congress and JD(S), which broke their alliance after losing power in July, have fielded their candidates in 15 and 12 seats, respectively.