The Congress has emerged victorious in most rural body seats, with the party registering a win in over 1,800 panchayat samiti seats till the last count, along with a victory in over 100 zila parishad seats. The Shiromani Akali Dal is reported to be a distant second in the electoral race, while the Aam Aadmi Party has failed to leave a mark.

The Congress has now won 1009 block samiti seats and is nearing victory. Akali Dal, on the other hand, has won just 134 so far. Counting is underway.

In Bathinda, Congress has won 31 block samiti seats so far while Akali Dal has won 4. Counting of votes is underway. There are total 148 block samiti seats in Bathinda.

Congress leader Harish Chaudhary congratulates Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh for party's victory in rural polls.

Akali Dal has won 8 seats in Amritsar's Majitha Block Samiti, Congress has won just 1 seat here.

As per the latest update, the Congress has so far won on 85 Zila Parishad seats and 862 seats in Block Samiti. The Akali Dal has won 8 ZP seats and 108 block samiti seats.

Congress has won 193 out of 212 Block Samiti seats in Gurdaspur district. No other party has been able to open its account here yet.

Latest update of Punjab Panchayat Samiti Poll results - Congress has won 695 seats, Akali Dal 102, AAP 7, Independents 26.

Punjab Zila Parishad Poll Results - Congress 85, Akali Dal 8.

Counting is underway.

Congress wins all 25 zones of Batala Block Samiti in Gurdaspur.

Congress has won 10 Zila Parishad seats in Pathankot so far while Akali Dal has got 2. Counting is underway.

Load More

Ludhiana, September 22: The Punjab Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti Elections Results 2018 will be declared today. The counting of votes will begin at 8 am across the 22 districts of Punjab. Voting was held for the Punjab rural body polls on Wednesday, September 19 amid some incidents of violence and allegations of rigging.  Following stray incidents, repolling was held in 28 polling booths in eight districts including Amritsar, Moga and Bhatinda. Stay with us for Live updates as counting of votes takes place today. Congress wins 25 percent seats unopposed in Majha region.

Overall a low voter turnout was recorded on the polling day on Wednesday. Here is the district-wise polling percentage that was recorded on September 19 - Bathinda 64 percent, Barnala 57 percent, Ferozepur 57 percent, Fatehgarh Sahib 64 percent, Faridkot 63 percent, Fazilka 65 percent, Gurdaspur 47 percent, Hoshiarpur 50.86 percent, Jalandhar 51.6 percent ,Kapurthala 60 Percent, Ludhiana 57 Percent, Moga 57 Percent, Sri Muktsar Sahib 58 Percent, Mansa 71.66 Percent, Patiala 59 Percent, Pathankot 57 Percent, Rupnagar 60, Sangrur 64 Percent, S.A.S. Nagar 65 Percent, S.B.S. Nagar 60.37 Percent and Taran Tarn 43.77 Percent.

Meanwhile, former deputy chief minister and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) chief Sukhbir Singh Badal and a few other party workers were booked for allegedly thrashing a Congress worker on the polling day. The incident took place at Killianwali village in Punjab's Muktsar district during Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti polls. The victim identified as Jatinderpal Singh (55) alleged that he was beaten up by a group of Akali workers led by Badal. According to a PTI report, his vehicle was damaged and he received life threats.

The polling took place on 354 Zila Parishad seats and 2,900 panchayat seats. In Majha region, the Congress has won 25 per cent of seats unopposed. In total, thirty-three candidates were elected unopposed to various Zila Parishads, and 369 nominees were elected unopposed to the Panchayat Samitis.  A total of 17,268 polling booths were set up, 35 observers appointed and around 50,000 police personnel deployed for the polls in Punjab. There are a total of 1,27,87,395 registered voters in Punjab, comprising 60,99,053 women and 97 third-gender voters.