Uddhav Thackeray Swearing-In Ceremony: Arvind Kejriwal to Skip Shiv Sena Chief's Oath, Here's Why
Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal (Photo Credits: IANS)

New Delhi, November 27: Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party leader, Arvind Kejriwal will not attend the oath ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray as Maharashtra Chief Minister on Thursday. According to news agency ANI, Arvind Kejriwal decided to skip Uddhav Thackeray's swearing-in ceremony due to his personal engagements. Congress Interim President Sonia Gandhi is also likely to give it a miss. It remains unclear if Rahul Gandhi was also invited.

While Sonia Gandhi gave her consent to form an alliance with ideological adversary the Shiv Sena in Maharashtra, Rahul Gandhi conveyed his reservations. The Maha Vikas Aghadi, alliance of the Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Congress, has invited Sonia Gandhi, all Congress Chief Ministers, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Arvind Kejriwal and DMK chief MK Stalin. Maharashtra Government Formation: List of Probable Ministers From Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress.

MVA leader Uddhav Thackeray, first from the Thackeray family, will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra tomorrow. The swearing-in ceremony will be held at the Shivaji Park in Dadar. More than 500 farmers from different parts of Maharashtra will also be invited to attend the historic event. Uddhav Thackeray will be the from the Thackeray family to hold a constitutional post.

At the crack of dawn last Saturday (November 23), a two-member government comprising Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar was sworn-in, leaving the state and country in a daze. However, that government barely completed 80 hours, paving the way for the Maha Vikas Aghadi alliance government headed by Uddhav Thackeray to stake its claim to power, and finally invited to take the oath of office on November 28.