02 Apr, 19:25 (IST)

Rajasthan Royals have clinched a 72-run victory against Sunrisers Hyderabad to start their IPL 2023 campaign. Batting first, RR put up a massive total of 203 on board, courtesy of Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal. In reply, Sunrisers Hyderabad could only reach 131 in their 20-over quota. This was a clinical victory from last season's runners-up who have made their intentions clear. Hyderabad meanwhile will have to do a lot of things better in the upcoming matches. 

02 Apr, 19:11 (IST)

Out! Yuzvendra Chahal gets rid of Buvneshwar Kumar with a flat and straight delivery. Hyderabad are yet to cross the 100-run mark and RR are cruising towards a big victory. 

02 Apr, 18:55 (IST)

Out! Here goes the seventh wicket. Adil Rashid has been stumped by Sanju Samson. Yuzvendra Chahal gets his 3rd wicket of the match. Rajasthan inching closer towards victory. 

02 Apr, 18:34 (IST)

Out! Mayank Agarwal gets caught in the deep trying to hit Yuzvendra Chahal and loses his wicket. Immediately after, RR make their impact player sub bringing in Navdeep Saini for Yashasvi Jaiswal. 

02 Apr, 18:29 (IST)

Sunrisers Hyderabad make a desperate impact player sub as they bring in Abdul Samad for Fazalhaq Farooqi after losing half their side within 10 overs. 

02 Apr, 18:27 (IST)

Out! Its looking grim for the Orange Army at the moment as they lose Washington Sundar and Glenn Phillips in quick succession. They have now lost half the side and have a mountain to climb. 

02 Apr, 18:11 (IST)

Out! First over of Yuzvendra Chahal in this season's IPL and he has managed to get rid of Harry Brook. Chahal bowls a flat and quick delivery which skids and finds the off stump of the English batter. Hyderabad are now in more trouble. 

02 Apr, 18:04 (IST)

End of the powerplay and Sunrisers Hyderabad have managed only 30 runs from these 6 overs. they have also lost two wickets and are quite behind at this stage of the match. Harry Brook and Mayank Agarwal are currently trying to stitch a partnership for SRH. 

02 Apr, 17:54 (IST)

This has been a good start for Rajasthan Royals so far. SRH are still stunned after losing two wickets in the first over. They will have to score quickly now or the game might slip from their hands. 

02 Apr, 17:44 (IST)

Out! Here goes the second wicket. It was a full outswinger outside of the off stump as Tripathi came down the track and opened the face. However, Jason Holder takes an outstanding catch to send the SRH batter back. What a start for Rajasthan Royals!

Load More

The 16th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 has commenced and we are already into the 3rd day of the tournament. With two matches lined up on April 2, it is expected to be a blockbuster Sunday for cricket fans. In the first match of the day, Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Rajasthan Royals. The game will take place at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad and has a starting time of 3:30 pm IST (Indian Standard Time). The toss of this match will be held at 3:00 pm IST. This will be the first match for both these teams in IPL 2023 and they will be aiming for a bright start to the tournament. Kane Williamson Ruled Out of IPL 2023, Gujarat Titans Confirm.

After a below-par last season, where they failed to qualify for the playoffs, Sunrisers Hyderabad have managed to build a strong team. With Aiden Markram unavailable due to national team duties, Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar is all set to lead the Hyderabad team in this match. Both new signings, Mayank Agarwal and Harry Brook will be SRH's main strength in the batting department. Meanwhile, Umran Malik will spearhead SRH's bowling department.

On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals finished as the runners-up in IPL 2022. RR have managed to keep the core of their squad and are one of the favourites for the tournament. The trio of Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson and Shimron Hetmyer are Rajasthan's biggest hope in the batting department. Meanwhile, with two of the best Indian spinners in Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal at their disposal, their bowling also looks very strong. Mark Wood Castles Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh on Consecutive Deliveries to Claim His First Five-Wicket Haul in IPL (Watch Video).

Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad: Harry Brook, Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Glenn Phillips(w), Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar(c), Adil Rashid, Akeal Hosein, Umran Malik, T Natarajan, Samarth Vyas, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Dagar, Upendra Yadav, Mayank Markande, Kartik Tyagi, Sanvir Singh, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Nitish Reddy, Vivrant Sharma

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson(w/c), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Obed McCoy, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sandeep Sharma, Kunal Singh Rathore, Abdul Basith, Donavon Ferreira, Dhruv Jurel, Kuldeep Sen, Kuldip Yadav, KM Asif, KC Cariappa, Akash Vasisht, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Adam Zampa, Jason Holder, Joe Root