Uddhav Thackeray was sworn in as the chief minister of Maharashtra on Thursday. Uddhav Thackeray took oath amid loud cheers and slogans. Wearing a saffron kurta Uddhav took oath at Shivaji Park in Mumbai. With his swearing-in ended weeks of political instability in the state’s politics. Thackeray formed the government in Maharashtra with the help of two unlikely allies, the NCP and Congress. Six leaders took oath along with Uddhav on Thursday. Sena's Eknath Shinde and Subash Desai, NCP's Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal and Conrgress's Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut. After assuming office as the chief minister of Maharashtra, Uddhav chaired the first cabinet meeting.