Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7 in Himachal Pradesh: Polling Team Reaches World's Highest Polling Station in Mandi
Polling team reached highest polling station in Mandi (Photo Credits: ANI)

Shimla, May 17: As the last phase of Lok Sabha elections is scheduled to take place on May 19, a polling team on Friday reached World's highest polling station at Tashigang in Lahaul-Spiti, a part of Mandi Parliamentary constituency in Himachal Pradesh. The polling station is located at an altitude of 15,256 feet above sea level. The four constituencies of state – Mandi, Kangra, Hamirpur and Shimla are going for polls in the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha elections. The counting of votes will take place on May 23. Himachal Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The main competition will be between the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata (BJP). From Kangra, the largest Lok Sabha constituency in the state in terms of voters, the BJP has fielded Cabinet Minister Kishan Kapoor, after dropping veteran leader Shanta Kumar, against Congress two-time legislator Pawan Kajal. In the Shimla (reserved) seat, it is an ex-serviceman versus an ex-serviceman. Retired Colonel Dhani Ram Shandil, is the Congress candidate against Bharatiya Janata Party nominee and former Indian Air Force (IAF) officer Suresh Kashyap. Mandi Lok Sabha Constituency in Himachal Pradesh: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019.

ANI's Tweet:

Meanwhile, in Hamirpur, former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal is trying to ensure a fourth term for his son Anurag Thakur, former president state and national cricket bodies. Pitted against Thakur is ex-wrestler and five-time Congress legislator Ram Lal Thakur. Sitting BJP MP and the Chief Minister's confidante Ram Swaroop Sharma is seeking a second term from Mandi. He is contesting against Congress greenhorn Ashray Sharma, who is the grandson of former Telecom Minister Sukh Ram.

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the saffron party had won all the four seats. Meanwhile, in 2009 also, Congress did not perform upto expectations. The grand old party bagged only a single seat.

(With inputs from IANS)