Agra North, Darjeeling Assembly Bypolls on May 19, Results on May 23: Election Commission
File Photo | Election Commission of India Building (Photo Credits: ANI)

New Delhi, April 19: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday announced that the bye-election to Agra North Assembly seat and Darjeeling Assembly constituency will be held in the seventh phase of general election i.e on May 19. The results will be declared on May 23, along with 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. Vellore Lok Sabha Polls Cancelled: Madras High Court Dismisses AIADMK Candidate's Plea, Upholds Election Commission Decision.

The EC said that the notification for polls will be issued on April 22 and the last date for filing nominations will be April 29. Withdrawal of candidature will be till May 2. Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Election Commission Officials Search Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy's Chopper.

Bye-polls to Agra North Assembly constituency has been necessitated because sitting Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) Jagan Prasad Garg died due to cardiac arrest. While, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) had announced that Gorkha Janmukti Morcha MLA Amar Singh Rai will contest, Darjeeling legislator, will contest on its ticket for Lok Sabha constituency.

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections are taking place in seven phases. Polling in both West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh are held in all seven phases.