Raghubar Das stepped down as Jharkhand CM after the BJP failed to reach the majority mark. He submitted his resignation the state governor.

JMM leader Hemant Soren has won Dumka and Barhait assembly constituencies

PM Narendra Modi Congratulated JMM leader Hemant Soren on victory of Congress-JMM-RJD allaince in the assemnly elections.

Home Minister Amit Shah tweets on Jharkhand Assembly Election results. In a tweet, Shah said that the BJP respected the mandate given by people of Jharkhand.Amit Shah's Tweet:

Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is leading in 46 seats, BJP is ahead in 25 seats.

Jharkhand's prospective chief minister Hemant Soren, while addressing the press for the first time after the election results emerged, expressed gratitude to the voters for granting a "decisive mandate" to the JMM-Congress-RJD alliance. "Today is a historic day. It is also a day for us to take the pledge to wholeheartedly serve the people for the next five years," Soren said. He also thanked RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, her son Rahul Gandhi and daughter Priyanka Gandhi Vadra for jointly projecting him as the chief ministerial candidate.

Chief Minister Raghubar Das has "conceded defeat" as the alliance of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) have extended their lead to 47 constituencies. "I tried to serve my best in last five years and can’t say anything before the results are out. I can call it as my defeat. We are not waiting for any miracle to happen," Das said.

Former Union Minister P Chidambaram jabbed the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) over their rout in Jharkhand. The Congress veteran pointed out that the saffron party has been "dented" in all the three state polls held after the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The Opposition parties must rally around the Congress to provide a nationwide alternative, he said.See P Chidambaram's Tweet

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha is emerging as the single-largest party with leads in 29 constituencies. The BJP is trailing second with leads in 23 seats and victory in 1 constituency.

According to latest trends, JMM now emerges as single largest party in the state. The trends show JMM leading in 27 seats while the BJP is at 26. The counting of votes for Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019 is currently underway.

Load More

Ranchi, December 23: The high-stake results of Jharkhand assembly elections 2019 will be released by the Election Commission of India (ECI) today. Counting of votes is scheduled to begin at 8:00 am, with the first trends expected to be out within the first 30 minutes. The votes casted through postal ballot by the defence and security personnel would be counted first, followed by the votes recorded in the electronic voting machines (EVMs). Stay tuned here for the live news and updates of Jharkhand assembly election results 2019.

Polls in Jharkhand were held in five-phases between November 30 to December 20, with a total of 81 legislative assembly seats being contested. Ahead of the elections, the Congress, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had sealed a pre-poll alliance. The JMM was allotted 43 seats, followed by 31 for the Congress and 7 for the RJD. Exit Polls: JMM-RJD-Congress Hold The Edge, Predicted to Win 35-50 Seats, BJP Trails in Surveys.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) contested the elections without a pre-poll alliance. The All Jharkhand Students' Union (AJSU) Party, which was a constituent of the incumbent government, broke out of the NDA and contested independently. The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Janata Dal (United) - ruling coalition partners of the BJP in Bihar - also fielded their candidates from several constituencies.

In the 2014 assembly elections, the BJP succeeded in forming its first-ever government in the state. The party had won 37 out of 81 seats, and its then alliance partner AJSU Party had bagged 5 constituencies. The JMM and the Congress were restricted to 19 and 25 assembly segments.

Ahead of the election results, the exit poll surveys had jolted the BJP, as most of them predicted a below-majority-mark performance for the saffron party. Two f the surveys have predicted a clean sweep for the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance, whereas, others claimed that the key to formation of next government will lie with the AJSU Party and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) of Babulal Marandi.