Majority of the 3500 residents of Chittapur taluk's Tarkaspet village in Kalburagi district are boycotting Karnataka Elections 2018 over their demand for Gram Panchayat headquarters for their village.

Voting in poll-bound Karnataka is underway. At 3 PM, 56% voter turnout was recorded. Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah on Saturday casted his vote in Chamundeshwari. He is contesting from Chamundeshwari and Badami constituencies. Taking a jibe at BJP President Amit Shah he said, "Amit Shah is like a comedy show and Narendra Modi's image has drastically declined, his speeches are completely hollow and have made no impact on the voters of Karnataka. Therefore we are not worried". 

Bengaluru: Clashes broke out between Congress & BJP workers outside a polling booth in Hampi Nagar allegedly after the former thrashed a BJP corporator. Ravindra, Vijayanagar BJP candidate says, 'our corporator Anand was attacked but police isn't taking any action'. 

Ravi Channannavar, Bengaluru DCP said it is a sensitive polling booth & the clash between BJP and Congress workers happened within 100 meters of the booth. He said the police will investigate and take further action. 

BJP workers in Dharwad staged protest outside Booth No. 58 in Karadigudda. They alleged that polling staff at the booth were asking people to vote for Congress candidate Vinay Kulkarni. During the protest, EC officials were present at the spot

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah in Mysuru's Varuna said the party is confident to win the elections. "We are very-very confident that Congress party will come back to power with a complete majority", he said.  CM Siddaramaiah says, 'Yeddyurappa is mentally disturbed. Congress will get more than 120 seats. I am very confident.' 


About 24 percent polling was recorded till 11 AM in Karnataka on Saturday. The state is witnessing a three-cornered contest among the ruling Congress, the BJP and former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda’s JD(S). According to PTI reports, people were seen standing in queues to cast their votes in the early hours itself, factoring in that the temperature may go up later in the day.

Also, it has been raining in different parts of south interior Karnataka for the last couple of days during the evening hours. Senior citizens were seen in good numbers standing in queues at various polling stations to cast their votes early.

At 9 AM, 10,6% voting was recorded in poll-bound Karnataka.  A total of 2,654 candidates are in the fray and 4.96-crore electorate, including 2.44 crore women, will cast their votes. Over 15 lakh people are first-time voters in the 18-19 age group.


Tight security is in place to ensure smooth and peaceful polling across the 222 seats out of 224 assembly constituencies, spread across 30 districts. Votes will be counted and results declared on May 15. Of the 2,564 candidates analysed, about 883 (34 per cent) are crorepati candidates.

Just before the polling began for the assembly elections in the state, Yeddyurappa was seen performing puja at his residence. He also visited a temple in Shikarpur.

The polling, which began at 7 am in 58,546 polling stations, each equipped with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verified Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs), will conclude at 6 pm.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Karnataka chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa cast his vote in Shikarpur, Shimoga. Meanwhile, Union Minister and BJP leader Sadananda Gowda was seen casting his vote in Puttur. Gowda said that people will come out in large numbers to remove the Siddaramaiah government from Karnataka.

"Certainly there will be an increase in voting this time. They want to remove the Siddaramaiah government from Karnataka. People will come out in large numbers," Gowda said.

Load More

Bengaluru, May 12: Voting in Karnataka began on Saturday at 8 AM to elect 222 legislators to its assembly under a thick security blanket. The counting of votes will be held on May 15. The polling for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 is being held in 222 out of 224 seats in a three-cornered contest among the ruling Congress, the BJP and former prime minister H D Deve Gowda's JD(S). Over 2,600 candidates are in the fray-- more than 2400 men and over 200 women. The election in south Bengaluru’s Jayanagar constituency was countermanded following the death of the BJP candidate.

The Election Commission on Friday deferred the polls for the Rajarajeswari Nagar constituency to May 28 after a massive row erupted over a large number of voter ID cards being found in an apartment. The election for the Jayanagara seat in Bengaluru was countermanded following the death of BJP candidate and sitting MLA B N Vijaykumar.

According to a PTI report, the total voters including service electors according to the 2018 final rolls are 5,06,90,538, of whom 2,56,75,579 male voters, 2,50,09,904 female and 5,055 transgender voters. Officials said 58,008 polling stations have been set up across the state, of which 12002 have been designated as "critical", with over 3,50,000 polling personnel on duty.

Reports inform that Police have made elaborate security arrangements for the smooth conduct of polls that will go on till 6 pm. Counting of votes will take place on May 15. "82,157 people have been deployed for poll duty that includes DSPs, home guards and civil defence, and forest guards and watchers, Karnataka DGP Neelamani N Raju said. This also includes about 7,500 personnel from states like Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra Chattisgarh, Kerala and Goa, she said, adding, central forces have been deployed.

We, at LatestLY, will bring all the breaking and latest news and updates around the world. Stay with us for the latest updates of the day.