Karnataka Cabinet Portfolios Announced: Govind Makthappa, Ashwath Narayan, Laxman Savadi Named as Deputy CMs by BS Yediyurappa
BS Yediyurappa | File Image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Bengaluru, August 26: A month after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) formed the government in Karnataka, Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa on Monday appointed three deputy CMs - Govind Makthappa, Ashwath Narayan and Laxman Sangappa Savadi. The announcement was made as Yediyurappa allocated portfolios to all 17 members of his cabinet. BS Yediyurappa Takes Oath as Karnataka Chief Minister For 4th Time.

The cabinet expansion took place last week. Narayan has been allotted higher education, while Makthappa and Savadi have been given public works department and transport ministry respectively. BS Yediyurappa Wins Trust Vote in Karnataka Vidhana Soudha Through Voice Vote.

The BJP leaders who took oath in the cabinet include Govind Karjol, K S Eshwarappa, R Ashoka, C T Ravi, Suresh Kumar, B Sreeramulu, Basavaraj Bommai, Jagadish Shettar, V Somanna and C C Patil. Former JDU leader J C Madhuswamy has been inducted as well.

The BJP came to power after toppling the Congress-Janata Dal United (JDU) government in the state. The alliance lost trust vote in Assembly by six votes, after which HD Kumaraswamy resigned from the post of state CM. Currently, the saffron party has 105 legislators in the Karnataka Assembly. Two independents also extended support to the BJP-led government. Hours After Cabinet Expansion, Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa Orders Newly Inducted Ministers to Visit and Help Flood Victims in the State.

Yediyurappa, who took oath as the Karnataka CM for the fourth time last month, was serving as the leader of opposition in the state legislature after the 2018 assembly polls. In the election, the BJP emerged as the single largest party, but fell short by eight legislators to form the government. The fractured mandate allowed rivals, Congress and JDS, to stitch a post-poll pact. Under the alliance, Kumaraswamy was chosen as the CM of the state.