Delhi, August 6: The election for India’s new Vice-President will be held today, August 6 and the results for the second-highest constitutional position in the country is likely to be delivered by evening. This time, it will be a tough fight between NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar and Opposition candidate Margaret Alva.

As per the current situation, the BJP alone has enough votes to ensure that Dhankhar crosses the majority mark. As per the electoral college arithmetic, Dhankhar has two-thirds of votes in his favour as the BJP by itself has 303 members in the Lok Sabha and 91 in the Rajya Sabha. Vice Presidential Election 2022 Live Streaming: Watch Live Telecast of Polls for 14th Vice President of India.

Here Are The Latest updates on Vice Presidential Elections 2022: 

Lok Sabha Gen-Secy Utpal K Singh said that NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankar has won the Vice Presidential Election by 346 votes. "Dhankar bagged 528 of the total 725 votes that were cast. While 15 were termed invalid. Opposition candidate Margret Alva received 182 votes in the election," he said.

Check tweet:

According to reports, NDA's Jagdeep Dhankar is likely to succeed incumbent M Venkaiah Naidu as the ruling BJP government has an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha and 91 members in the Rajya Sabha. This way, Dhankhar clearly has an edge over his rival and opposition candidate Margaret Alva.

The counting of votes to for the Vice Presidential elections is underway in Parliament.

Check tweet:

Jagdeep Dhankar meets Pralhad Joshi

Before the announcement of the results, NDA's Vice Presidential Candidate Jagdeep Dhankar arrived at the residence of Parliamentary affairs minister Pralhad Joshi at 11 Akbar road, New Delhi.

Check tweet:

According to reports, the voting for the Vice Presidential post stands over in Parliament. The counting of votes will begin at 6 pm. The results of the VP Polls is likely to be announced by 7:30 pm today.

Check tweet:

As of the latest trends, over 90 percent of MPs had voted in the Vice Presidential election till 3 pm.

Om Birla casts his vote:

Rahul Gandhi casts his vote:

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman casts her vote:

Shashi Tharoor, Jairam Ramesh, Mallikarjun Kharge, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, and K Suresh cast their votes:

Opposition's Vice Presidential candidate Margaret Alva held a conversation with Union Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal at the Parliament.

Check Tweet:

BJP MP Hema Malini casts vote:

AAP MPs Harbhajan Singh, Sanjay Singh, DMK MP Kanimozhi, BJP MP Ravi Kishan:

Interim Congress president Sonia Gandhi arrived at Parliament on Saturday to cast her ballot in the ongoing VP polls.

Margaret Alva arrives at Parliament: 

Nitin Gadkari and Dharmendra Pradhan cast votes:

Jyotiraditya Scindia and Rajeev Chandrasekhar cast  votes:

Congress MP Karti Chidambaram, DMK MPs Dayanidhi Maran, Tiruchi Siva Cast Votes:

Dr. Manmohan Singh Arrives at the Parliament:

PM Modi Casts his vote:

Amit Shah casts his vote:

Union Minister Jitendra Singh and Ashwini Vaishnaw cast their votes:

The Voting for the Vice Presidential Election 2022 begins.

Check Tweet:

The voting for the Vice President of India will begin at 10  am today. The counting of the votes will take place on 6 pm. The results for the same will be declared later in the day.

Dhankhar, who has practiced in both Rajasthan High Court and the Supreme Court of India, has served as an MP and Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs in 1990. Vice Presidential Election 2022: Telangana Rashtra Samithi Announces Support for Opposition Candidate Margaret Alva

Margaret Alva, who entered politics over 5 decades ago in 1969 by joining the Indian National Congress, too has a Rajasthan connection. She was the Rajasthan Governor from May 2012 to August 2014. She had also been the Governor of Uttarakhand, Goa and Gujarat. Vice Presidential Elections 2022: TMC To Abstain From Vice Presidential Election, Says Party Leader Abhishek Banerjee

To be eligible to become a Vice-President, an individual needs to be above 35 years of age. They also need to be a citizen of India and meet all the requirements to become a member of the Rajya Sabha.

In case an individual holds any office of profit with the Government of India, or any state government, they are no longer eligible to become a Vice-President.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Aug 06, 2022 08:00 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website