01 Apr, 23:43 (IST)

Lucknow Super Giants rode on emphatic performances from Kyle Mayers and Mark Wood to register a 50-run win over Delhi Capitals. This sort of win to kickstart a tournament is what teams look out for. The KL Rahul-led side will now have an extra headache of preparing their foreign player combination when Quinton de Kock comes back. For Delhi Capitals, a lot to work on, especially their efforts in the field, as a costly miss by Khaleel Ahmed saw Mayers make merry. On the batting front, Warner was impressive, but his knock came at a very low strike-rate by his standards. 

01 Apr, 23:31 (IST)

Mark Wood has displayed a fine show of fast bowling as his five-wicket haul has helped Lucknow Super Giants beat Delhi Capitals by 50 runs in their IPL 2023 match on Saturday. The English pacer rattled the Delhi batting order after they had a good start in their pursuit of 192. Earlier, Kyle Mayers blazed his way to an impressive 73 and some fine hitting from Nicholas Pooran (36) and Ayush Badoni (18) as Lucknow Super Giants posted 193/6.

01 Apr, 23:22 (IST)

OUT! Mark Wood has one more wicket and now, his victim is Axar Patel! What a match this has been for the England pacer! Axar Patel c (sub)Mayank Yadav b Mark Wood 16(11)

01 Apr, 23:04 (IST)

OUT! David Warner departs and it seems over for Delhi Capitals now. The DC skipper misjudged the slower ball and ended up finding the fielder near the boundary. David Warner c Krishnappa Gowtham b Avesh Khan 56(48)

01 Apr, 22:59 (IST)

OUT! Avesh Khan gets his first wicket of the night, dismissing Aman Khan. The DC Impact Player tried to play a big shot but played one in the air, with Nicholas Pooran taking a good catch. Aman Khan c Nicholas Pooran b Avesh Khan 4(5)

01 Apr, 22:55 (IST)

FIFTY for David Warner! The Delhi Capitals captain has played an important knock here for his team and although it has come at a low strike rate, his side will want him to be out there till the end and try and get closer to the Lucknow total. 

01 Apr, 22:49 (IST)

OUT! Ravi Bishnoi takes another wicket as he dismisses the dangerous Rovman Powell, who has been trapped for just one run. Lucknow Super Giants have made things very tough for Delhi Capitals, who still have their captain David Warner at the crease. The run rate is creeping up and we might be in for a great finish. Rovman Powell lbw b Ravi Bishnoi 1(3)

01 Apr, 22:41 (IST)

OUT! Ravi Bishnoi has taken a big wicket, dismissing Rilee Rossouw, who was looking good. The left-hander walks across his stumps misses the ball and Bishnoi appealed for lbw. The decision was reviewed after the on-field umpire gave it not out and TV replays showed that the ball had hit the bat before Mayers took the catch. An important wicket. Rilee Rossouw c Mayers b Ravi Bishnoi 30(20) 

01 Apr, 22:15 (IST)

OUT! It's Mark Wood again! He has got another wicket and this time, Sarfaraz Khan has to depart! It was fiery bouncer and Sarfaraz, while trying to duck it, attempted to guide the ball over the keeper. But he was cramped for room and he ended up top-edging the ball to deep fine leg with Krishnappa Gowtham taking a good catch. Wood is on fire! Sarfaraz Khan c Krishnappa Gowtham b Mark Wood 4(9

01 Apr, 22:10 (IST)

What a powerplay it has been. First, Delhi Capitals got off to a great start until Mark Wood came on to bowl. The England bowler, known for his raw pace, knocked over Prithvi Shaw and Mitchell Marsh off consecutive deliveries to bring Lucknow Super Giants back into the contest. David Warner is still out in the middle and a lot would rest on him now if Delhi Capitals are to win this. 

Load More

The 16th season of the IPL has commenced and some blockbuster cricketing action awaits us for the next two months. In the second day of the IPL 2023, there is double header with Lucknow Super Giants taking on the challenge of Delhi Capitals in the second game of the day at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow. This is the first time LSG will play at their home stadium and with some good performances to back them from last season, they will stay confident.  DC on the other hand, missed out on their play-off berth last season and will look for a winning start. Kane Williamson, Gujarat Titans Batter, Ruled Out of IPL 2023: Report.

Lucknow Super Giants have a strong top order with Quinton De Kock, KL Rahul and Deepak Hooda who are strong against every type of bowling and have experience under their belt. For some middle over power hitting they have broke bank for Nicholas Pooran and paired him up with Marcus Stoinis. Krunal Pandya, as all-rounder, provide the team balance and they have a potent bowling attack Mark Wood, Avesh Khan and Ravi Bishnoi. With the Ekana Stadium pitch assisting the spinners, Amit Mishra can come into play as impact sub.

Delhi Capitals will miss their captain Rishabh Pant in the season due to injury and opted to take Bengal batter Abishek Porel as the replacement. David Warner will open the batting along with leading the side with having a strong top order too in Mitchell Marsh and Prithvi Shaw around him. Rovman Powell, the Caribbean captain has been in form too and the lower order power-hitting is reliant on him. Anrich Nortje is yet to arrive, which makes Mustafizur Rahman's role important in the side. Kuldeep yadav has been in some good form lately and that will give them some edge when they arrive at the Ekana Stadium. Balls Flying All Over! Virat Kohli's Shots in Training Makes RCB Captain Faf du Plessis Cautious During IPL 2023 Interview (Watch Video).

Lucknow Super Giants Squad: KL Rahul(w/c), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Prerak Mankad, Jaydev Unadkat, Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Krishnappa Gowtham, Swapnil Singh, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Daniel Sams, Romario Shepherd, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Karan Sharma, Mayank Yadav, Amit Mishra, Manan Vohra

Delhi Capitals Squad: David Warner(c), Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh, Philip Salt(w), Sarfaraz Khan, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Aman Hakim Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Chetan Sakariya, Khaleel Ahmed, Ishant Sharma, Manish Pandey, Praveen Dubey, Mukesh Kumar, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lalit Yadav, Rilee Rossouw, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Vicky Ostwal, Abishek Porel