Patna, November 15: Binay Kumar Choudhary of the JD(U) has won from the Benipur Vidhan Sabha Seat by defeating Congress candidate Mithilesh Kumar Choudhary. The constituency is situated in the Darbhanga district of Bihar. The MLA of the Benipur constituency is Sunil Choudhary, who belongs to JD(U). The voting in the Benipur constituency was held in the second phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 on November 3. The counting of votes was held on November 10 and the result was also declared on the same day. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results on November 10.

The Bihar assembly elections was held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7, followed by counting of votes on November 10. The Bihar election is one of the biggest elections globally during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Second Phase Complete Schedule

Last Date For Filing Nomination October 16
Scrutiny of Nominations October 17
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal October 19
Voting Date November 3
Result Date November 10

The main candidates for the Benipur Assembly Election 2020 included Mithilesh Choudhary of Congress party, Binay Kumar Choudhary of Janata Dal (United), Sanjeev Jha of Shiv Sena among other candidates. In the last elections in Bihar held in 2015, Sunil Choudhary of the JD(U) had won from the Benipur seat by defeating BJP candidate Gopal Jee Thakur.

The voting for the first phase was held on October 28 which covered 71 assembly constituencies, the second-phase voting on November 3 covered 94 seats. The third phase of voting on November 7 covered 78 assembly seats. In Bihar, the ruling NDA faced a challenge from the RJD-Congress alliance (JDU+BJP) and the Mahagathbandhan (RJD+Congress+Left).

In the outgoing assembly, the RJD has 80 members while the JD (U) has 69. The BJP has 54 seats, Congress has 25, while the remaining seats in the 243-member assembly are held by other parties.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Ranjeet Kumar JhaIND967
Sanjeev JhaSHS757
Ram Kumar JhaIND6221
Binay Kumar Choudhary (Current MLA)JD(U)61416
Mithlesh YadavIND608
Mithilesh Kumar ChoudharyINC54826
Md. Quamrul HodaIND538
Saguni RayIND3082
Nathuni RamWazib Adhikar Party1929
Rajesh Kumar MishraJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1576
Sanjeet KumarIND1310
Manoj KumarIND1215
Kamal Ram Vinod JhaLJPNA
Rajeev KumarRLSPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 15, 2020 12:47 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website