Congress’ 2019 Lok Sabha Elections Campaign Song Cut Short: Party Removes Lines After Objection by ECI
Congress flags | Representational image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, April 7: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday asked the Congress party to remove couple of lines from its campaign song as it  explicitly referred to alleged 'disturbed communal harmony'. The decision by the EC comes just ahead of the launch of Congress’ campaign song for the Lok Sabha elections on Sunday. According to a report by ANI, party sources revealed that the campaign song highlights the party’s proposed minimum income guarantee ‘NYAY’ scheme. They, however, said that the Commission objected to a few lines after which the party had to replace them. Congress Manifesto For Lok Sabha Elections 2019 List of Promises.

The report added saying that these lines had accused the NDA government at the Centre of spreading hatred and pitching communities against each other. Sources aware about the development said necessary changes have been made and both the song and the slogan would be released on Sunday afternoon.

The campaign song also mentions the job situation, demonetisation, women’s security, GST and farmers’ suicide, among other issues. On Saturday, the poll body had also ordered the BJP to retract its theme song composed by Asansol MP Babul Supriyo after the All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) raised objections against the composition. Babul Supriyo's Campaign Song Against TMC Hits Roadblock in West Bengal, EC Directs BJP to Withdraw it Ahead of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. 

West Bengal's Chief Electoral Officer informed that the EC has said BJP MP Babul Supriyo's song against which TMC had objected won't be allowed to play. “The song was being used by BJP in various parts of Bengal without permission. The song will have to be withdrawn," he added.

The song was earlier asked to be modified and then sent to the electoral body for certification. However, the EC has now asked the BJP to retract the song. The Lok Sabha polls are slated to begin on April 11 and will continue till May 19. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.