The 2018 Karnataka by-elections were touted as the semi-final before the 2019 General Elections. If that statement holds true, then the BJP has a lot of work to do before the General Elections to be held next year. Looking at the results, the bypolls results for the  assembly seats of Jamkhandi and Ramanagara could not have come at a better time for the Congress and JDS.

Anitha Kumaraswamy, wife of Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, won comfortably from the Ramanagaram assembly seat. JDS' Anitha Kumaraswamy won the Ramanagaram assembly seat with a margin of 1,09,137 votes. Anitha fetched a total of 1,25,043 votes against 15,906 votes received by the BJP candidate.

Coming to the Jamkhandi assembly seat, Congress candidate AS Nyamagouda won the Jamkhandi assembly seat by a margin of 39,480 votes. Karnataka Chief Minister looked a happy lot in the press conference and said that the coalition will try and win all the seats in the 2019 General Elections.

JDS' Anitha Kumaraswamy wins Ramanagaram assembly seat with a margin of 1,09,137 votes and Congress's AS Nyamagouda wins Jamkhandi assembly seat by a margin of 39,480 votes. Check the ANI tweet below:

Congress's AS Nyamagouda wins Jamkhandi assembly seat by a margin of 39,480 votes. The Congress candidate secured 96,968 votes compared to BJP's candidate Srikant Kulkarni, who managed 57,492 votes.

JDS candidate Anitha Kumaraswamy leading with 1,05,294 votes on the Ramanagaram Assembly seat at the end of 19th round of counting. There is one more round to go for the final picture to emerge. JDS workers have started the celebrations.  

Congress's AS Nyamagouda leading by 32,933 votes in Jamkhandi. JD(S)'s Anitha Kumaraswamy, wife of CM HD Kumaraswamy, leads by 65,990 votes in Ramanagaram. 

JD(S) candidate Anitha Kumaraswamy, wife of CM HD Kumaraswamy, set to win from the Ramanagaram assembly seat as the counting is over. The returning officer will make an announcement soon.

After 5th round, Congress candidate Anand S Nyamagouda has 35,218 votes while BJP candidate Srikant Kulkarni secured 22,447 votes from Jamkhandi Assembly seat.

After the end of fourth round of counting, JDS takes lead forward on Ramanagaram assembly seat. JDS leads BJP by over 20,000 votes.

After the completion of the second round of counting, Congress leads with surplus 3,785 votes against BJP at Jamkhandi seat. Congress has 10,882 votes against BJP's 7097.

The counting of votes will begin soon. The polls are seen as a contest between the Congress-the JDS alliance and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The Congress is contesting from Jamkhandi and Ballari, and the JDS has fielded its candidates in Shivamogga, Ramanagara and Mandya.

Load More

Bengaluru, November 6: Jamkhandi (Gen) is a State Assembly/Vidhan Sabha constituency in the Bagalkot district and Mumbai Karnataka region of Karnataka. It is a part of the Bagalkot Lok Sabha constituency.

The total number of voters in the constituency are 1,98,957. Amongst the general voters 99,883 are male, 98,929 female and 5 others. The approximate literacy rate is 68%

In the 2013 Karnataka Assembly Elections, the INC had won this seat with a margin of 21,152 votes. The Congress Party had secured 37.3% of the total votes. The voter turnout percentage was 74.64% in the 2013 assembly elections.

In Jamkhandi, by-elections were necessitated due to the death of incumbent Congress MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, who met a fatal road accident on May 28. A voter-turnout of 81.58 per cent was recorded in the by-polls held on November 3, 2018.

In Ramanagaram, the seat from where Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy's wife Anitha Kumaraswamy is contesting, 73.71 per cent voting was registered. The seat fell vacant after Chief Minister and her husband vacated the seat after winning.