Lok Sabha Election 2019 Results: Krishna Poonia Defeated by Rajyavardhan Rathore in Jaipur Rural Constituency
Krishna Poonia (Photo Credits: Facebook)

The 17th Lok Sabha Polls took place throughout the country from April 11 to May 19, 2019. The polling was done in 7 phases in which the last phase of election was held on May 19. Indian National Congress candidate Krishna Poonia contested from Jaipur Rural constituency where she lost to Bhartiya Janata Party candidate Rajyavardhan Rathore. PM Narendra Modi Congratulates BJP Workers For Thumping Victory in Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Thanks India For Filling 'Fakir Ki Jholi'

Krishna Poonia is a former discus thrower who won the gold medal for India in 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games. She is the current MLA from Sadalpur constituency in Rajasthan. Poonia lost to BJP candidate Rajyavardhan Rathore by a margin of 3,89,403 votes.  Rathore won the last election from the same seat by a margin of 3,32,896. Jaipur Rural Lok Sabha Constituency in Rajasthan: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore has served in the Indian army and retired as a Colonel. He is the Minister of States for Ministry of Sports Affair and Youths. He has bagged total 25 international medals at various championships for Double Trap Shooting including a Silver medal at 2004 Summer Olympics in Men's Double Trap event. The contest at Jaipur Rural seat was indeed a battle between two Olympic legends.

A total number of 8 contestants contested for this seat in Jaipur Rural constituency. Bhartiya Janata Party has yet again emerged out as the single largest party in General Election 2019. Congress after winning Assembly election in Rajasthan in Dec 2018, wasn't able to capitalize it in the same state for 17th Lok Sabha polls.