58.18 per cent voter turnout recorded till 6 pm in 3rd phase polls in Odisha; polling in two booths adjourned while recommendations sent to Election Commission for repolling: Odisha Chief Electoral Officer

61% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm in 3rd phase polls in Odisha; polling in two booths adjourned while recommendations sent to Election Commission for repolling: Odisha Chief Electoral Officer

Repolling in 9 booths which were adjourned due to several reasons during second phase polls will be conducted on April 25, CEO office sources. List of booths enclosed.

BJP's Lok Sabha candidate from Kendrapara, Baijayant Jay Panda, casts his vote for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 and Odisha Assembly Elections at Booth No. 19 in Bhubaneswar.

Villagers smash EVM at booth no 222 in Kamasasan under Brahmagiri in Puri district. Villagers allege that button pressed against one symbol was resulting in votes for another symbol, reported OTV news.

Padma Shri and international sand artist Sudarsan Pattnaik cast his vote in Puri and appeals other voters to exercise their franchise.

Polling disrupted at polling booth no 180 of Jubilee Town area in Dhenkanal due to glitches in VVPAT machines.

Polling in booth no 183 under Deogarh Assembly constituency adjourned following glitches in the pairing of EVMs and VVPAT machines; Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) recommends Election Commission (EC) for repolling.

Around 34 percent voter turnout was recorded till 2 pm.

District Election Officer issued a show cause notice to Cuttack-Barabati BJD MLA candidate Debashish Samantaray over his Facebook post "influencing voters" during ban period on Apr 22. The election officer has sought reply on why his message should not be treated as poll code violation.

Load More

New Delhi, April 23: The third phase of assembly elections in Odisha will take place on April 23 along with the Lok Sabha elections 2019. Of the 147 constituencies, 41 assembly seats are going for polls. The polling will begin at 7 am.  However, the assembly election in Patruka has been postponed till April 29 after the death of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla. The main contest is to be witnessed between the incumbent Biju Janata Dal (BJD) headed by chief minister Naveen Patnaik, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

The important constituencies going for polls are Kuchinda, Anandapur, Ghasipura, Champua, Keonjhar, Karanjia and Dhenkanal. In the first phase on April 11, 28 assembly seats went for polls, while in the second phase polling was held on 35 seats. In the 2014 assembly election, the BJD retained power by winning 117 seats in the 147-seat assembly. Meanwhile, the Congress bagged 16 seats, whereas, the BJP managed to win only 10 seats. Model Code of Conduct Comes Into Force Ahead of Lok Sabha Elections 2019: What is MCC or Aachar Sanhita?

Meanwhile, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in an interview to news agency ANI, expressed willingness for an open post-poll alliance with any political party who works for the development of the state. He had said, “Any party or coalition who supports the development and the just claims of Odisha will have our support.” Patnaik also rejected reports of anti-incumbency playing a key role in the ongoing elections.

Along with assembly polls, six Lok Sabha constituencies of the state are also going for polls. These parliamentary seats are- Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri and Bhubaneswar. Meanwhile, polling for the General Elections 2019 will take place in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. The election results of all phases will be announced together after counting of votes on May 23. The Model Code of Conduct has come into effect from March 10.