Baramulla Lok Sabha Constituency Result 2019 in Jammu and Kashmir: Mohammad Akbar Lone of NC Wins Parliamentary Election
Baramulla Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: The counting of votes for the Baramulla Lok Sabha Constituency in Jammu and Kashmir began at 8 am on Thursday. The results of the Parliamentary seat were declared by Thursday, May 23 evening. Mohammad Akbar Lone of the National Conference won the seat. Voting took place for the Baramulla seat in J&K in the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on April 11. Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results.

A total of nine candidates are in the fray from the Baramulla Parliamentary seat. These include Mohammad Akbar Lone of National Conference, Abdul Qayoom Wani of the PDP, Haji Farooq Ahmad Mir of the Congress and Mohd Maqbool War of the BJP. The last date of filing nomination here was March 25. The last date for withdrawal of candidature was March 28. Polling on this seat will take place on April 11. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections. 

Even though the Baramulla seat has been a stronghold of the J&K National Conference over the years, PDP candidate Muzaffar Hussain Baig won the Lok Sabha Election 2014. Baig defeated Sharief Ud-Din Shariq of the JKNPP and is the sitting MP from Baramulla.

The General Elections 2019 will take place across India between April 11 and May 23. While voting will take place for 543 Lok Sabha seats in seven phases between April 11 and May 19, the counting of votes will take place on May 23.