Faridkot Lok Sabha Constituency in Punjab Results 2019: Congress Candidate Mohammad Sadique Elected as MP
Faridkot Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

The results of the Faridkot Lok Sabha Constituency was declared on May 23. Congress' Mohammad Sadique won the elections defeating Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate Gulzar Singh Ranike. The counting of votes began in the parliamentary seat in Punjab at 8 am on Thursday, May 23.  Voting for the Faridkot seat took place in the seventh and final phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Faridkot is one of the 13 Lok Sabha Constituencies of Punjab. It is located in the Malwa region of the state. Faridkot Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste category, and the seat number of this constituency is 9. The constituency comprises of nine assembly seats including Nihal Singhwala, Bhagha Purana, Moga, Kotkapura and Jaitu. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

This time, Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP)  sitting MP Sadhu contested from the Faridkot Lok Sabha constituency. The Congress fielded Mohammed Sadique, while the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) gave the ticket to Gulzar Singh Ranike. The last date of filing nomination for the seat was April 22. The scrutiny of nominations papers took place on April 30. Meanwhile, the last date of withdrawal of candidature was May 2. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase VII: List of States And Constituencies Voting on May 19.

Here are important details about the Faridkot Lok Sabha Constituency:

Issue of Notification April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of candidature May 2
Date of Poll May 19
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase VII

In 2014, Singh defeated SAD's Paramjit Kaur Gulshan with a huge margin. Gulshan won the 2009 elections beating Sukhwinder Singh Danny. Politically, Akalis have a stronghold in Faridkot. In the last 11 elections, the SAD had won six times.

List of States And Constituencies That Will Vote On April 11 In Phase VII:

State (No. of seats voting in this phase) Constituencies
Bihar (8) Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Kurakat, Jahanabad
Jharkhand (3) Rajmahal, Dumka, Godda
Madhya Pradesh (8) Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, Khargone, Khandwa
Punjab (13) Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, Patiala
West Bengal (9) Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar
Chandigarh (1) Chandigarh
Uttar Pradesh (13) Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj
Himachal Pradesh (4) Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur, Shimla

On March 10, the Election Commission of India announced dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The elections will take place in seven phases, and the results will be declared on May 23. The polls will be held in 1,035,918 polling stations across the country compared to 928,000 set up during the last Lok Sabha election in 2014.