Aizawl, December 8: The counting of votes for 25-member Lai Autonomous District Council (LADC) in south Mizoram's Lawngtlai district concluded late on Tuesday. The results for Mizoram's LADC elections 2020 showed the regional Mizo National Front (MNF) outperforming the national parties. While the MNF won 20 out of the 25 seats, the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged one each. Three seats were won by independent candidates.

The voting for LADC in Lawngtlai was held on December 4. A total of 72 candidates were in the fray for the elections. The main contest, according to pollsters, was between the ruling MNF and its NDA partner BJP - with which it does not have an alliance in the state.

The MNF had fielded candidates in all the seats, while the BJP fielded nominees in 17 seats. The Congress contested in 14 seats, and 16 independent candidates were in the fray. Three ADCs for Lai, Chakma and Mara communities were created in the southern parts of the state in 1972. 62.32% Votes Polled in Mizoram's Lai Autonomous District Council Elections

In the previous council elections held in 2015, the Congress had crossed the majority mark with 16 seats, followed by the MNF which had bagged eight seats and one independent candidate was elected. At present, however, the MNF has the highest number of members in the council at 11, followed by the BJP with nine, while the grand old party's tally has diminished to five, mainly due to defections.

During an election campaign on November 26, Union minister Kiren Rijiju had promised that the Centre would make efforts to amend the sixth schedule to give more powers to the three ADCs in Mizoram and ensure directing funding from the Union government.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Dec 08, 2020 10:12 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website