New Delhi, June 10: Elections for the 57 seats of Rajya Sabha began at 9 am and concluded at 5 pm on Friday. The counting of votes will take place at 5 pm. 41 candidates of Rajya Sabha have already been elected unopposed. The elections will fill the vacant seats in Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Haryana and Karnataka. The counting of votes for the Rajya Sabha elections will begin soon as leaders have started filing in.  

The BJP wins 3 seats in Karnataka, while the Congress managed to score one seat. The winners are Nirmala Sitharaman (BJP), Jaggesh (BJP), Jairam Ramesh (Congress).

All three candidates of Congress - Pramod Tiwari, Mukul Wasnik, and Randeep Surjewala - win from Rajasthan, tweets CM Ashok Gehlot. Meanwhile, BJP's Ghanshyam Tiwari won in Rajasthan Rajya Sabha polls.

Check CM Ashok Gehlot's Tweet:

The counting of votes is on hold in Haryana and Maharashtra. A delegation of the BJP met the Election Commission this evening over Haryana and Maharashtra, asking that "this election be declared null and void on basis of broken rules of secrecy in voting".

Check Tweet: 

The Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) will win four Rajya Sabha seats in Maharashtra, said Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut.

The elections also hold significant importance as they will be held just a month ahead of the presidential elections. While the BJP’s tally is likely to remain 100, the Congress’ share in the Upper House may increase by a couple of seats.  Rajya Sabha Elections 2022: Date, Time And Candidates, Here’s Everything You Need to Know About the Upcoming Polls

Ahead of the polling, political parties moved their lawmakers to hotels to avoid being poached by the rivals. Rajya Sabha Elections 2022: Here's How Members of The Upper House of Parliament Are Elected in India

Amid the allegations of horse-trading, the Election Commission also appointed special observers to ensure fair conduct of the electons. It has also ordered video recording of the entire process.

Amid poaching fears, internet was suspended in Jaipur's Amer Area, Rajasthan till 9 am on Friday ahead of polling for Rajya Sabha Election.

Ashok Gehlot Casts His Vote for the Rajya Sabha Elections.

Maharashtra will see the contest on the highest number of seats on Friday with six seats going to polls.

Some prominent leaders, whose fates will be decided at 5 pm when the counting of the votes will take place, include Union Ministers Piyush Goyal and Nirmala Sitharaman, Congress leaders Jairam Ramesh, Randeep Surjewala and Mukul Wasnik and Sanjay Raut.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jun 10, 2022 08:56 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website