Champions Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi have qualified for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023 playoffs as the group stage of what has been an exciting tournament came to an end. While Lahore won seven out of 10 games, Multan Sultans and  Islamabad United ended with 12 points each. But Mohammad Rizwan's side sit second owing to a superior net run rate. Babar Azam's Peshawar Zalmi finished fourth, with 10 points from as many matches. PSL 2023 started on February 13, with the final to be played on March 19. A star-studded opening ceremony began its eighth edition at Multan Cricket Stadium in an opening clash between defending champions Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans. The prominent T20 franchise league will see 34 matches scheduled between six teams: Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, Karachi Kings, Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators. On Which Channel PSL 2023 Will be Telecast Live in India? How To Watch Pakistan Super League T20 Cricket Matches Live Streaming Online?

The tournament's first leg was played in Karachi and Multan, whereas Rawalpindi and Lahore were host cities in the latter half of the tournament. The PSL 2023 will be played in two rounds; the league stage and the Play-offs. Each team will face five other teams in a double round-robin format in the league stage, which ended with Karachi Kings' win over Lahore Qalandars. Every single win for a team will guarantee them two points on the points table. At the end of the league stage, Lahore, Multan, Islamabad and Peshawar have made it through to the next round. PSL 2023 Schedule Announced: Get Pakistan Super League T20 Tournament Fixtures, Time Table With Match Timings and Venue Details.

Pos Teams P W L T NR Points NRR
1 Lahore Qalandars 10 7 3 0 0 14 0.915
2 Multan Sultans 10 6 4 0 0 12 0.500
3 Islamabad United 10 6 4 0 0 12 -0.708
4 Peshawar Zalmi 10 5 5 0 0 10 -0.452
5 Karachi Kings 10 3 7 0 0 6 0.756
6 Quetta Gladiators 10 3 7 0 0 6 -1.066

(Updated after end of Karachi Kings vs Lahore Qalandars) 

The top two teams entering into Play-offs will play in Qualifier 1. Meanwhile, the bottom two teams will face each other in eliminator 1. The winner of eliminator 1 will then face the defeated team of Qualifier 1 in Eliminator 2. As the winner of Qualifier 1 will have already progressed into the final, the winner of Eliminator 2 will be the second finalist of the eighth edition of Pakistan Super League 2023.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Feb 14, 2023 02:24 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website