ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Asia Cup 2018

From Sep 15, 2018 to Sep 29, 2018


The Asia Cup 2018 will be held in UAE this year but in a 50 over format. The mega event was played last time in 2016 in a T20 format where India walked away with the title. The last time, five teams participated in the Asia Cup 2018 i.e. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and UAE. This time, however, the mega-event will witness the participation of six teams- India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Hong Kong.  Six teams have been divided further into two Group A & B.

Group A comprises India, Pakistan and Hong Kong. Group B comprises Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. The one who wins in the Group stage will then advance to the Super Fours and then the semis.  The Starting from September 15, the first match will be played by Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The final match will be played on September 28, 2018. The matches will be divided into a couple of venues i.e. Dubai and Abu Dhabi.


Pakistan will start off as a hot favourites for the tournament as it is their home ground. However, it would be interesting to see who wins the tournament.