The national day of Canada is celebrated each year on July 1. In 1867 -- on this day -- three separate colonies of the province of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick were united into a single Dominion within the British Empire called Canada. It was renamed as Canada Day after Canadian Constitution was patriated by the Canada Act 1982.