Names of Congress Candidates For Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018 Phase-I Finalised
Representational Image (Photo Credits: PTI)

Raipur, October 12: The Congress has finalised candidates for 17 for the first phase of the upcoming Chhattisgarh assembly elections. Meanwhile, the party has not yet finalised the candidate for the constituency of Chief Minister Raman Singh. Congress Legislative Party leader of Chhattisgarh, TS Singhdeo told news agency ANI, “One seat of Rajnandgaon, the constituency of CM Raman Singh, has been put on hold.”

The first phase of Chhattisgarh assembly elections will be held on November 12 in 18 districts of the northern part of the state. Meanwhile, the second phase of elections will take place in the rest 72 districts. The model code of conduct has been placed in the state. Apart from Chhattisgarh, four other states are also undergoing elections. In Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram, voting will take place on November 28. In Rajasthan and Telangana, voting will be held on December 7. The counting of votes will be held on December 11. Check the full schedule of assembly elections 2018

Yesterday, the Congress also released the names of 36 candidates to contest the 40-member Assembly on the November 28 polls. Chief minister Lal Thanhawla will be contesting from two constituencies - Serchhip and Champhai South. The party has fielding 12 new candidates in these elections. There is only one woman candidate, Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu who is contesting from Hrangturzo in Serchip.