Arun Jaitley Dies at 66: Amit Shah, Smriti Irani, Arvind Kejriwal, Ashok Gehlot and Other Politicians Mourn the Death of Former Finance Minister
Former Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, August 24: Arun Jaitley, the former finance minister and one of the tallest leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party, passed away on Saturday. He died at the age of 66 years. Arun Jaitley was unwell for the last two years. He was admitted to All India Medical Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) in New Delhi after he complained of breathing issues on August 9. He was treated by a multidisciplinary team of senior doctors. Arun Jaitley Dies at 66: Former Finance Minister Breathes His Last at AIIMS.

Many political leaders condoled the death of former finance minister. Mourning the demise, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said "With the demise of Arun Jaitley Ji, I have lost a valued friend, whom I have had the honour of knowing for decades. His insight on issues and nuanced understanding of matters had very few parallels. He lived well, leaving us all with innumerable happy memories. We will miss him!" Arun Jaitley Dies at 66: Here's a Look at The Political Career of the Former Finance Minister And Senior BJP Leader.

Take a look at the tweets posted by politicians:

Amit Shah

Rajnath Singh

Smriti Irani

Capt.Amarinder Singh

Sunny Deol

Arvind Kejriwal

Sambit Patra

Ashok Gehlot

Sharad Yadav

Shashi Tharoor

Suresh Prabhu

Mamata Banerjee

Rutvij Patel


Kapil Sibal

Arun Jaitley Dies Aged 66: Former Union Minister & Senior BJP leader Passes Away at AIIMS

The 66-year-old leader was unwell for the last two years. Arun Jaitley also took a three months break to undergo a kidney transplant. After 2019 general elections, he refused to be part of 2.0 Narendra Modi government citing health issues. Born on December 28, 1952, Jaitley served at the Minister of Finance and Corporate Affair from 2014 to 2019. He also served as Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha from 2009 to 2014. He was also a senior advocate of the Supreme Court of India