Results for the Ramanathapuram Lok Sabha Constituency in Tamil Nadu has been declared by the Election Commission of India (ECI). K Navaskani of the Indian Union Muslim League Wins This Parliamentary Seat. The counting of votes for the Ramanathapuram Lok Sabha Constituency began at 8 AM on Thursday, May 23. This is one of the 39 Parliamentary constituencies in Tamil Nadu which went to poll on April 18. This parliamentary constituency in the southern state was formed before the elections of 1952. The constituency number of Ramanathapuram is 35 and is not reserved for any category, which means it falls in the general category. According to EC, this constituency consists of 1,133,391 number of voters in total. Out of the total voters, 560,074 are males and 573,317 are females. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

The Ramanathapuram Lok Sabha Constituency has six Vidhan Sabha segments, one of which is reserved for the SC category and the total number of electors is 1,133,391. It represents the Ramanathapuram District, commonly known as Ramnad.

For the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded Nainar Nagendran from Ramanathapuram. Nagendran, who has been a former AIADMK MLA from Tirunelveli had left the party in 2017 after the infighting in the aftermath of former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa's death. Meanwhile, the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) has fielded Nawaz Kani from this seat. Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections. 

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule for Ramanathapuram Constituency:

Issue of Notification March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 29
Date Of Poll April 18
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Phase II of Lok Sabha Polls 2019

List of States And Constituencies That Will Vote On April 18 In Phase II

State (No. of seats voting in this phase) Constituencies
Assam (5) Karimganj, Silchar, autonomous district, Mangaldoi, Nawgong
Bihar (5) Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Banka
Chhattisgarh (3) Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, Kanker
Jammu And Kashmir (2) Srinagar, Udhampur
Karnataka (14) Udupi Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkballapur, Kolar
Maharashtra (10) Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Hingoli, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur, Solapur
Manipur (1) Inner Manipur
Odisha (5) Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska
Tamil Nadu (39) Thiruvallur, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Vellore, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Arani, Villupuram, Kallakurichi, Salem, Namakkal, Erode, Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Pollachi, Dindigul, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Chidambaram, Mayiladuturai, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Theni, Virudhunagar, Ramanathapuram, Thoothukudi, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, Kanyakumari
Tripura (1) Tripura East
Uttar Pradesh (8) Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, Mathura, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri
West Bengal (3) Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Raiganj
Puducherry (1) Puducherry

All the 39 constituency seats of Tamil Nadu will got to poll on April 18. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will take place across the country between April 11 and May 23 in seven phases. The election results will be announced on May 23.

In the last assembly elections which were held in 2014, Anwhar Raajhaa A of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) had won from the Ramanathapuram seat by defeating Mohamed Jaleel S of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK). Anwhar had won this seat by 405,945 votes.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on May 23, 2019 12:26 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website