Shivaji Nagar Bypoll 2019 Result Live: Rizwan Arshad of Congress Wins MLA Seat
Shivaji Nagar bypolls 2019 (Photo Credits: File Photo)

New Delhi, December 9: Rizwan Arshad of the Indian National Congress has triumphed the Shivaji Nagar bypoll seat in Karnataka. Arshad won the seat by defeating his closest BJP rival Saravana. The counting of votes for the Shivaji Nagar assembly constituency in Karnataka began at 8 am on Monday. The Shivaji Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency is located in the Bangalore Urban district. In the Shivaji Nagar constituency, there are a total of 1,87,772 voters in the constituency. This time, the Congress had fielded Rizwan Arshad while the BJP gave its ticket to Saravana. Karnataka Bypoll Results 2019 Live Streaming: Watch Live Telecast of By-Election Outcome in 15 Constituencies.

Voting for 15 assembly constituencies of Karnataka took place on December 5. An estimated 62.18 per cent average voting was registered in the by-elections on Thursday. The major parties contesting in these polls- BJP, INC and JD(S). At present, R Roshan Baig of JD(S) is the sitting Member of Legislative Assembly. Karnataka Bypoll Results 2019 Live News Updates.

Apart from Congress and BJP which had fielded candidates in 15 seats, there were more than 100 independents who contested in Karnataka by-polls. JD(S) battled on 12 seats. In the 2013 Karnataka Assembly Elections, R Roshan Baig of JD(S) had won the Shivaji Nagar seat by securing 59,742 votes. In 2013 the seat witnessed a voter turnout of 54.33 percent in the Shivaji Nagar constituency.