Abhijit Banerjee Wins Economics Nobel 2019, Joins List of Illustrious Indians and Indian-Origin People to Have Won the Top Honour
Abhijit Banerjee Wins Economics Nobel 2019. (Photo Credits: Nobel Academy/Twitter)

Stockholm, October 14: Abhijit Banerjee, an Economist of Indian origin, created history on Monday when he joined the illustrious list of Indians or people of Indian-origin to win the Nobel Prize. The 2019 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded to Abhijit Banerjee along with Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer. Banerjee teaches at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA. He shared the prize along with Duflo and Kremar as their research "considerably improved our ability to fight global poverty," said the Nobel Prize press release. The Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences are known as The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences. Nobel Prize 2019 For Economic Sciences: Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer Awarded For Research on Global Poverty.

Indian-American Abhijit Banerjee is only the second Indian ever to have won the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences. Amartya Sen was the first Indian to have won the Nobel Prize in Economics "For his contributions to welfare economics."

The number of Nobel laureates who were Indians at the time of winning the Nobel Prize are: Rabindranath Tagore (Literature), CV Raman (Physics), Mother Teresa (Peace), Amartya Sen (Economics) and Kailash Satyarthi (Peace) are winners who were Indians when they won the prize.

Whereas, four persons of Indian origin, including Abhijit Banerjee, won the Nobel Prize. Har Gobind Khorana (Physiology or Medicine), Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (Physics), Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (Chemistry) and Abhijit Banerjee (Economic Sciences) are winners of Indian Origin but not Indian citizen.

Among Nobel laureates with linkages to India are names such as Rudyard Kipling (Literature), Ronald Ross (Physiology or Medicine), VS Naipaul (Literature), 14th Dalai Lama (Peace). All of these winners have had some or the other association with India.