11 Nov, 04:13 (IST)
The Election Commission has declared the final tally of Bihar assembly polls 2020 results. The NDA is set for another term, cumulative winning 125 seats -- above the halfway majority mark of 122. The RJD has emerged as the single-largest party, winning 75 seats.
Result Status
Status Known For 243 out of 243 Constituencies
All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen505
Bahujan Samaj Party101
Bharatiya Janata Party74074
Communist Party of India202
Communist Party of India (Marxist)202
Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)12012
Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)404
Indian National Congress19019
Janata Dal (United)43043
Lok Jan Shakti Party101
Rashtriya Janata Dal75075
Vikassheel Insaan Party404
11 Nov, 03:29 (IST)

Final status of 241 seats have been declared by the Election Commission. The counting is underway in remaining two constituencies.

11 Nov, 03:03 (IST)

Status of 240 seats are known, with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janata Dal (United) poised to form a government, along with the Hindustan Awami Morcha (Secular) and the Vikassheel Insaf Party (VIP). Counting of votes is still underway in three seats.

11 Nov, 01:06 (IST)

The Election Commission officials said that the counting of votes is pending in 20 constituencies. Results in 223 assembly seats have been declared, the EC officials said. 

11 Nov, 01:03 (IST)

The Election Commission's special post-midnight press conference has begun.

11 Nov, 00:37 (IST)

Today is a historic day that NDA has won again the extraordinary trust of the people of Bihar. They trusted PM Modi's leadership whose commitment resonated with them that without development of Bihar, development of India will remain incomplete: Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad


11 Nov, 00:25 (IST)

Results declared for 203 seats out of the total 243. NDA wins 102 seats with BJP  winning 60, JDU at 34, VIP at 4 and  HAM won 4 seats. Mahagathbandhan wins 93 seats. RJD won 64, Congress 16, and Left 13 seats. AIMIM wins 5, BSP wins 1, and 1 seat goes to independent candidate.

11 Nov, 00:14 (IST)

The BJP has proclaimed victory in the Bihar assembly elections 2020, with the trends now largely projecting a win for the NDA in 124 constituencies -- marginally above the halfway mark of 122. The RJD, however, has alleged foul play, claiming that the candidates of Mahagathbandhan are ahead in 119 seats. The Election Commission's press conference at 1 am is awaited.

10 Nov, 23:48 (IST)

PM Narendra Modi thanked the voters of Bihar for another term to the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

10 Nov, 23:32 (IST)

Election Commission will hold a press briefing on Bihar Assembly elections 2020 at 1 am.

Load More

Patna, November 10: Who will win the Bihar assembly elections 2020? The Mahagathbandhan (RJD+Congress+Left) or the JDU-BJP combine? Counting of votes for the Bihar Assembly Elections Results 2020 will begin at 8 am and initial trends will emerge by 9 am; followed by a clear picture by the evening. LatestLY will give live updates on the Bihar Vidhan Sabha elections results. To catch instant updates on results, winning candidates and parties, stay with us. Will Tejashwi Yadav Become Youngest CM of a State in India? Here's Who Has Been The Youngest Till Date.

The elections for 243 assembly seats were held in three phases – for 71 seats on October 28, for 94 seats on November 3, and remaining 78 on November 7. In this fiercely-contested assembly election, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar led the campaign of National Democratic Alliance (NDA), comprising of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal (United). Former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi's Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and the Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) of Mukesh Sahani are also part of the alliance. Bihar Assembly Elections Results 2020 Winners List: Names of Winning Candidates of RJD, Congress, BJP, JDU And Others.

The JDU-BJP combine faced a tough challenge from the Mahagathbandhan or grand alliance of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and Left parties. RJD leader and chief ministerial candidate of the alliance, Tejashwi Yadav ran a relentless campaign and addressed rallies in most of the constituencies. Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Upendra Kushwaha's RLSP and Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM were also in the fray.

Seat-Sharing Agreements For Bihar Assembly Elections 2020:

As per the seat-sharing agreement, the BJP got 121 seats out of the 243 Bihar constituencies while its ally JD(U) was allotted 122 seats. They gave some seats to HAM and VIP from each quota. The RJD fought elections on 121 seats, while the Congress declared candidates in 70 constituencies. The grand alliance left 70 seats for Left parties. Of them, the CPI-ML got 19 seats, CPI(M) 4 and CPI 6.

Bihar Exit Poll Results:

Most of the exit polls have predicted a thumping victory for the Mahagathbandhan, dislodging the Nitish Kumar-led NDA government with more than two-third majority in the 243-member Bihar assembly. India Today-MyAxis exit poll showed Tejashwi Yadav as the most preferable chief ministerial candidate. Pre-poll surveys suggested that the NDA had an edge over the grand alliance.