Haryana Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase 6 Voting Ends in Ambala, Sonipat, Kurukshetra, Gurgaon and 7 Other Parliamentary Constituencies; 62.43% Voter Turnout Recorded
Haryana Lok Sabha Elections (Photo Credits: File image)

Chandigarh, May 11: The voting for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, concluded in Haryana. The polling in the state took place in a single phase. Ten constituencies - Ambala, Rohtak, Kurukshetra, Sonipat, Gurgaon, Faridabad, Sirsa, Hisar, Karnal and Bhiwani-Mahendragarh went for polls. A total of 62.43 per cent polling was recorded in the state. The counting of votes will take on May 23.Haryana Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

A total of 223 candidates were in the fray in the sixth phase of elections in the state. There were a total of 1,80,56,896 voters in Haryana. Out which 97,16,516 were males and 83,40,173 were females and 207 were third gender voters. Over 19,000 polling booths were set up across the state. Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Key Candidates and Contests to Watch Out in Phase 6 of Polls.

Haryana witnessed a high-pitched multi-cornered electoral battle. The political parties in the fray were ruling Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP), Congress, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), Jannayak Janta Party (JJP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The key candidates who contested the Lok Sabha elections in Haryana include former chief minister of the state Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Kumari Selja and Avtar Singh Bhadana, Arvind Kumar Sharma, Rao inderjit Singh and Rattan Lal Kataria.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won seven out of the eight seats it contested, while its ally Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC) won none out of two seats. Congress had to suffer the loss of eight seats and ended up winning just one seat. Om Prakash Chautala's INLD bagged two seats.