Sadhvi Pragya to Contest From Bhopal Lok Sabha Seat As BJP Candidate Against Digvijay Singh
Digvijaya Singh-Sadhvi Pragya (Photo Credits: Facebook and Twitter)

Bhopal, April 17: Hours after Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) party, she has been nominated as the party candidate from Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency against senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh. Earlier in the day, while speaking to news agency ANI, Sadhvi Pragya had exuded the confidence of getting a ticket from Bhopal. She said, “I have formally joined BJP, I will contest elections and will win also.”Speculations were rife that the BJP might field Sadhvi against the Congress stalwart.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19.

The senior Congress leader was a staunch critic of Sadhvi. A few days back, while speaking to The Times of India, the Hindutva leader while referring to Singh had said, “I am ready to defeat the enemy." Sadhvi Pragya was accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts. The saffron party on Wednesday released the list of four candidates for Madhya Pradesh for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The party has also KP Yadav from Guna, Raj Bahadur Singh from Sagar and Ramakant Bhargav from Sagar Lok Sabha constituencies.

The polling in Bhopal will take place in the sixth phase on May 12. Bhopal is a bastion of the BJP in Madhya Pradesh as the party has been winning the seat continuously since 1989. The parliamentary polls in Madhya Pradesh will take place in four phases on April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results will be declared on May 23.