ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Final Overthrow Controversy: Umpire Kumar Dharmasena Admits Mistake
During the New Zealand vs England ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 final umpire Kumar Dharmasena awarded England six runs from an overthrow after the ball ricocheted from Ben Stokes bat towards the boundary. As per the rules, only five runs should have been awarded and the one extra run could have changed the result of the match. The final match was eventually tied and also the Super Over ended in a tie. England were then named winners on superior boundary count. Meanwhile, Dharmasena has admitted his mistake.