Khijri (ST) Vidhan Sabha Constituency Result in Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019: Rajesh Kachhap of Congress Wins MLA Seat
Khijri (ST) Vidhan Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Ranchi, December 9: Rajesh Kachhap of the Congress party has won the  Khijri (ST) Vidhan Sabha Constituency Result in Jharkhand. The voting in this assembly constituency in Jharkhand was held on December 12, 2019 in the third phase of Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019. The Khijri (ST) seat falls in the Ranchi district and comes under Ranchi Lok Sabha constituency. This seat is reserved for the Scheduled Tribe (ST).

The BJP had given its ticket to Ramkumar Pahan while the Congress had fielded Rajesh Khachhap for this seat. At present, the sitting MLA is  Ramkumar Pahan of the BJP.  As per the voter list of 2019, there are 3,08,827 electorates and 405 polling stations in this constituency. Phase-Wise List of Seats Going to Polls in Jharkhand.

The major political parties contesting the Assembly Elections in Jharkhand include Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) and the alliance between Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). These three parties have come together to take on the BJP in the ensuing elections for the 81-member Jharkhand assembly. While BJP plans to go solo this time, the JMM will contest 43 seats, Congress wil contest on 31 seats and RJD will contest on 7.

In Jharkhand, the five-phase elections were held between November 30 to December 20. The first phase of election in the state had taken place on November 30. The voting for the third phase will be conducted on December 12, the fourth phase on December 16, and the fifth and last phase on December 20.

In the 2014 Assembly polls in Jharkhand, the BJP had won the elections by defeating Congress and its major allies RJD, Janata Dal (United), and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). Ever since Jharkhand was formed, it was the first time in 2014, that a single-party (BJP) formed a majority in the state assembly. The BJP had won in 43 seats out of 81 seats, 2 more that required majority.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Rajesh Kachhap (Current MLA)INC83829
Ram Kumar PahanBJP78360
Antu TirkeyJVM6732
Sarita TirkeyIND4324
Prafulla LindaCommunist Party of India (Marxist)NA
Ramdhan BediyaAJSU PartyNA
Jagarnath OraonCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)NA
Priya BarikeNagrik Adhikar PartyNA
Pritam Saad LohraRepublican Party of India (A)NA
Bandhan OraonPeoples Party of India (Democratic)NA
Madan TutiAmbedkarite Party of IndiaNA
Marcella XalxoRashtriya Mahila PartyNA
Sion TirkeyLok Jan Vikas MorchaNA
Sunil Wilson KerkettaJharkhand PartyNA