Shiv Sena Taunts BJP Over Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018; Challenges to Contest Polls on Ballot Papers & Not EVMs
Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray | BJP President Amit Shah (Photo Credits: IANS)

Mumbai, May 15: Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 Results were announced, earlier today, by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The initial see-saw election trends saw both the prime contenders – Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) & Indian National Congress (INC) – go euphoric in their celebrations. Taking a dig, at its ally in the Centre & Maharashtra, over the current scenario in the Karnataka Assembly Polls, the Shiv Sena chief, Uddhav Thackeray, taunted the BJP of contesting an (any) election on ballot papers, instead of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Shiv Sena and the BJP have shared a bitter-sweet rivalry over the years; with the sourness being in fray majorly after the culmination of 2014 Lok Sabha Elections. The State Assembly Elections in Maharashtra in the year 2015, also strained their relationship, with the former threatening to break away from the alliance, be it in Maharashtra or in the Centre, time and again.

Shiv Sena has often taunted its ally BJP at several opportune times. Taking a jibe at BJP’s performance in the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray said, “Just one time, I want BJP to head into the election with ballot papers and not EVMs. All the apprehensions will go away.” See what Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray said:

There were alleged calls from opposition parties before and during the Karnataka Elections of EVMs being rigged. With Election Commission of India inviting every political party to try their hands at hacking the EVMs, last year, none of the political parties could do so. It was well documented that the EVMs were foolproof and not hackable.

As per the latest reports in the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018, the BJP has emerged as the largest single party with winning 45 seats and leading on 61 seats. The Congress was in the second position as they had won 22 seats and were leading on 53 seats. The Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) had won 5 seats and were leading on 33 seats.

Taking about their see-sawing relationship between Shiv Sena and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), it will be interesting to see which side the tide sweeps, given the fact that the next Lok Sabha Elections are only a year away. Stay tuned with us for all the latest news and live updates about Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018.