International Women's Day 2019: NASA Plans to Launch First All-Women Spacewalk, Two Female Astronauts Will Make History Soon
NASA Astronauts (Photo Credit: Getty)

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration, popularly known as NASA, is set to make history on March 29 as it plans to perform the first all-female spacewalk. In 1984,  Soviet cosmonaut Svetlana Savitskaya became the first woman to partake in a spacewalk. Now, after 35 years, NASA astronauts Anne McClain and Christina Koch will conduct a spacewalk outside the International Space Station. According to data, of the roughly 500 people been to space, around 11 per cent have been a woman. NASA Mission Could Now Find More Than 1,000 Planets.

According to NASA, during Spacewalks astronauts conduct science experiments as well as test new equipment in space. Typically, spacewalks last between five to eight hours, but currently the NASA has not disclosed how long this spacewalk will be. NASA's Opportunity Rover Declared Dead! Twitterati Mourns The Loss of Robot Stationed on Mars.

Kristen Facciol serving as a console at NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston will provide ground support to the team. After finding out that she is consoling the first all female spacewalk, Facciol wrote, "I just found out that I’ll be on console providing support for the FIRST ALL FEMALE SPACEWALK with @AstroAnnimal and @Astro_Christina and I can not contain my excitement!!!!"

Tweet by Kristen Facciol:

In another tweet, Facciol added, "I could never have imagined how many people would see this tweet, and I want to recognize that I’m part of a much larger team that’s been prepping for this spacewalk for a long time. There is a whole whack of amazing people that made this happen, and I wish I could list them all!" Moon Could be a Chemical Factory for Water: NASA.

McCain is currently aboard in the International Space Station since December 2018. Koch, a flight engineer, is a part of Expedition 59 which is scheduled to launch on March 14. Koch would be accompanied by Aleksey Ovchinin and Nick Hague.