May 2019 Festivals, Events and Holiday Calendar: Ramadan, Akshaya Tritiya to Mother's Day, Know All Important Dates and List of Fasts for the Month
May 2019 Calendar (File Image)

May, the fifth month in the Gregorian calendar will witness Muslims observe a month of fasting (sawm) during Ramadan. Ramadan 2019 will most likely begin on May 5 and last until Eid on June 4. There are many fasting dates for Hindu devotees this month such as Akshaya Tritiya, Shani Amavasya, Chandra Darshan, Rohini Vrat, Vinayaka Chaturthi and more. Biggest festival in Buddhism, Vesak or Buddha Purnima commemorated in honour of Lord Buddha’s birth anniversary will also take place in this month. There are more birth anniversaries such as Shankaracharya Jayanti, Parashurama Jayanti, Matangi Jayanti, Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti and even more national and international days celebrations. Calendar 2019 For Free Download in PDF: Know List of Hindu Festivals, Holidays, Fasts According to Drik Panchang, Kalnirnay, Lala Ramswaroop Calendars Online.

If April witnessed days of Hindu New Year’s Day celebrations in different states of India, May will see Millions of Muslims will begin with observing a month of holy fasting (sawm) during Ramadan or Ramzan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. This annual observance is regarded as one of the Five Pillars of Islam. The holy month of Ramadan will begin on May 5 and ends on June 4.

As for Hindus, Akshaya Tritiya is a big occasion that will be celebrated May 7, 2019 (Tuesday). The word Akshaya (अक्षय) means never diminishing and it is highly believed one benefits by doing good during this period. Buying gold is one of the most important rituals of Akshaya Tritiya. There are so many legends associated with this festival in which one worships the Lakshminarayana form of Lord Vishnu.

Sr. No. Date Day Fasts/Festivals/ National/International Days
1. May 1 Wednesday International Workers’ Day, Maharashtra Day, Gujarat Day, May Day
2. May 2 Thursday Pradosh Vrat
3. May 3 Friday Masik Shivaratri, World Press Freedom Day
4. May 4 Saturday Vaishakha Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya, Anvadhan, Agni Nakshatram Begins, World Naked Gardening Day, Star Wars Day
5. May 5 Sunday Ramadan Begins*, Ishti, World Laughter Day, Masik Karhigai, International Midwives Day, Cinco de Mayo
6. May 6 Monday Chandra Darshan, International No Diet Day
7. May 7 Tuesday Akshaya Tritiya, Parashurama Jayanti, Varshitapa Parana, Matangi Jayanti, Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti, Rohini Vrat, World Password Day, National Masturbation Day
8. May 8 Wednesday Vinayaka Chaturthi, World Red Cross and Red Crescent Day
9. May 9 Thursday Shankaracharya Jayanti, Surdas Jayanti, Ramanuja Jayanti, Tagore Jayanti based on Bengali Calendar, Europe Day
10. May 10 Friday Skanda Shashti
11. May 11 Saturday Ganga Saptami, World Migratory Bird Day
12. May 12 Sunday Mother’s Day, Masik Durgashtami, Bagalamukhi Jayanti, International Hummus Day, International Nurses Day
13. May 13 Monday Sita Navami, Thrissur Pooram
14. May 14 Tuesday Mahavira Swami Kevalagyan
15. May 15 Wednesday Mohini Ekadashi, Parashurama Dwadashi, Vrishabha Sankranti, International Day of Families
16. May 16 Thursday Pradosh Vrat, International Day of Light, International Day of Living Together in Peace
17. May 17 Friday Narasimha Jayanti, Chhinnamasta Jayanti, Shades Day
18. May 18 Saturday Vaishakha Purnima, Vaishakha Purnima Vrat, Anvadhan, Kurma Jayanti, Buddha Purnima (Vesak or Buddha Jayanti), Vaikasi Visakam, World AIDS Vaccine Day, International Museum Day
19. May 19 Sunday Ishti, Jyeshtha Begins, Narada Jayanti, World IBD Day
20. May 20 Monday World Bee Day, World Metrology Day
21. May 22 Wednesday Ekadanta Sankashti Chaturthi, International Day for Biological Diversity, World Goth Day, World Paloma Day
22. May 23 Thursday World Turtle Day
23. May 24 Friday World Schizophrenia Day 2018
24. May 24 Saturday Geek Pride Day, Towel Day
25. May 26 Sunday Bhanu Saptami, Kalashtami
26. May 29 Wednesday Hanuman Jayanti *Telugu, Agni Nakshatram Ends, World Multiple Sclerosis Day, International Day of UN Peacekeepers
27. May 30 Thursday Apara Ekadashi
28. May 31 Friday Pradosh Vrat, World No Tobacco Day, Jamat Ul-Vida, International Flight Attendant Day

Among the national and international days, Mother’s Day celebrated on May 12 is the most significant observance of the month. Apart from Mother’s Day, other important days are International Workers’ Day, World Press Freedom Day, World Laughter Day, Cinco de Mayo, International Day of Families, International Museum Day and more. That was all for May, keep glued to this section as we will return with the monthly calendar of June 2019.