IPL 2019 Purple Cap Winner Updated: Imran Tahir Becomes the Highest Wicket-Taker of IPL 12
The bowler with most wickets throughout the IPL 2019 will don the Purple Cap. (Photo Credits: File Image)

So after seven weeks of sheer entertainment, we finally have the winner of the IPL 2019 as Mumbai Indians takes away the title for the fourth time in the history of the Indian Premier League. But,  as far as the Purple Cap is concerned, Imran Tahir has bagged the honour for snapping 26 wickets in 17 matches after he got a couple of wickets today against Mumbai.  Kagiso Rabada stands on number two with 25 wickets.  Check out the full list of top 10 wicket-takers of IPL 2019 below. IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner Updated.

Indian Premier League 2019 kicked off on March 23 and continued till May 12. The bowler with most wickets throughout the IPL 2019 will don the Purple Cap to signify that he is the highest wicket-taker. At the end of the season, the bowler with most wickets against his name will be awarded a special memento. In the last season of IPL, it was Kings XI Punjab bowler Andrew Tye who took away the Purple Cap for claiming the highest number of wickets. The Australian claimed 24 wickets by the end of the IPL 11 to keep the Purple honour. IPL 2019 Schedule in PDF: Download VIVO Indian Premier League 12 Full Timetable With Fixtures, Matches, Team and Venue Details.

Other previous Purple Cap winners are: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) with 26 wickets in 14 matches of IPL 2017; Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) with 23 wickets in 17 matches of IPL 2016; Dwayne Bravo (CSK) with 24 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2015; Mohit Sharma (CSK) with 23 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2014; Dwayne Bravo (CSK) with 32 wickets in 18 matches of IPL 2013; Morne Morkel (DD) with 25 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2012; Lasith Malinga (MI) with 28 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2011; Pragyan Ojha (DC) with 21 wickets in 16 matches of 2010; RP Singh (DC) with 23 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2009 and Sohail Tanvir (RR) with 22 wickets in 11 matches of IPL 2008.

Most Wickets in IPL 2019- Purple Cap: 

The T20 format is known for tall sixes and fours. But one good over from a bowler can change the result of the game. There have many instances where the bowlers have snatched victories from the jaws of defeat. Like in T20Is, even in the IPL, a bowler can bowl a maximum of four overs in the game. Therefore, every bowler looks forward to giving his best in the given spells. Stay tuned to know who will be the Purple Cap winner this year in IPL 2019.