Malaysia Elects 92-Year-Old Mahathir Mohamad as Prime Minister: List of 10 Most Aged World Leaders
The coalition headed by Mahathir ended up winning 121 seats in the 222-member Malaysian assembly (Photo Credits: Getty)

Kuala Lumpur, May 10: Mahathir Mohamad staged an unprecedented victory against incumbent Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Rajak, despite pollsters putting their weight behind the latter ahead of the elections. With this shock win, Mohamed made his return as the premier of the Southeast Asian nation after a gap of 17 years. At 92 years of age, he becomes the oldest head of State in the world.

Not only is Mahathir among the 10 most aged leaders in the world, he is also listed among the only four nonagenarian constitutional heads around the globe.

Here is the list of 10 oldest serving world leaders:

Rank Name Date of Birth Current Age Designation Assumed office
1 Mahathir Mohamad 10 July 1925 92 years, 304 days 4th and 7th Prime Minister of Malaysia 2018
2 Elizabeth II 21 April 1926 92 years, 19 days Queen of the United Kingdom and 15 other countries 1952
3 Beji Caid Essebsi 29 November 1926 91 years, 162 days President of Tunisia 2014
4 Kim Yong-nam 4 February 1928 90 years, 95 days Chairman of the Presidium of the Supreme People's Assembly of North Korea 1998
5 Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah 16 June 1929 88 years, 328 days Emir of Kuwait 2006
6 Dame Marguerite Pindling 26 June 1932 85 years, 318 days Governor-General of the Bahamas 2014
7 Sir Colville Young 20 November 1932 85 years, 171 days Governor-General of Belize 1993
8 Paul Biya 13 February 1933 85 years, 86 days President of Cameroon 1982
9 Akihito 23 December 1933 84 years, 138 days Emperor of Japan 1989
10 Michel Aoun 18 February 1935 83 years, 81 days President of Lebanon 2016

Mahathir earlier served as the Malaysian head of state between 1981 to 2003. Najib Razak, who has been voted out of power, was once his accomplice.

Mahathir came out of retirement in January this year, claiming that there is "one job left for him to do in public life". In a decision which sent shockwaves across the political spectrum, the nonangerian said he would run for the Prime Minister's post in the 14th general elections.

The coalition headed by Mahathir ended up winning 121 seats in the 222-member assembly. On the other hand, the incumbent ruling coalition of Barrison National was reduced to 79 seats.