Nobel Prize 2018 For Economic Sciences Winner: William Nordhaus & Paul Romer Awarded Honour For 'Including Climate Change & Technological Innovation in Economic Theory'
Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences to William Nordhaus and Paul Romer, awarded the 2018 Prize in Economic Sciences, have designed methods that address some of our time’s most fundamental and pressing issues: long-term sustainable growth in the global economy and the welfare of the world’s population.

Nordhaus was the first person to create a quantitative model that describes the global interplay between the economy and the climate. His model is now widespread and is used to examine the consequences of climate policy interventions, for example, carbon taxes.

On Friday, Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.Nobel Peace Prize 2018 Winner: Denis Mukwege & Nadia Murad Awarded Honour For Efforts to End Sexual Violence as Weapons of War & Armed Conflict.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 with one half to Frances H. Arnold and the other half jointly to George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter. Last Tuesday, Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Arthur Ashkin and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland. The laureates were awarded the Nobel Prize for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.

The Swedish Academy has decided to postpone the 2018 Nobel Prize in literature. On Monday, Jean-Claude Arnault, the man at the centre of a sexual abuse and financial misconduct scandal that forced the postponement of this year’s Nobel prize in literature, has been convicted of rape. One of the other reason for debate this year was also regarding the low representation of women laureates in fields such as sciences.

In a positive news to this debate, Donna Strickland on October 2 became the third woman in 55 Years to Win the Nobel Prize in Physics. Frances Arnold won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, and she became only the fifth woman to win a Nobel Prize for Chemistry. Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences will be declared on October 8.